Skip to content

I Beat WoW

October 18, 2013

Dear Reader,

Last night’s flex was quite a run.  As usual, my new in-game buddy set up the run and lead a group of rag-tag players through the Siege of Orgrimmar with a handful of his guildies bracing their backs and shoulders from all the carrying they were doing.  We had no legitimate (as in not a trash mispull from a new tank) wipes in the first three wings and only one wipe pre-Garrosh on Siegecrafter, which was clearly a “learning curve” wipe that was not repeated.  We had a automated robot thing come up right as the magnet stole all the blades away, and we failed to down it before it AoE’d us to death.

Garrosh, though, even in flex was a serious fight, and a fun one.  It reminded me a good deal of Lich King in the amount of movement from defile, being pulled into different zones, add management, and so forth.  It was nicely complicated, and even though we wiped on it repeatedly, we did better each time until we downed him.  Even my hardcore raider buddy said he was nicely surprised that Garrosh wasn’t a pushover.

So that’s it; I beat WoW.  I’m happy!

Ah, if only it were so simple.

There was a drawback, though, something that was niggling at me all night.  When I raid with my buddy’s guildmates, I know I’m going to stink – in a relative way.  I’ll do okay, but in comparison to his friends, I’ll always be at the bottom of the dps meter.  The time he took me to a heroic pull of Tsulong, there were people legitimately tripling my dps (“He was cheating by multi-dotting,” I was told, but a sustained 300k is 300k no matter how you did it).  That’s really not a blow to my ego, though; these are serious players, and I’m a sightseer in their raids.  

But last night it was a group of openraid PuGs, and I was still kind of stinking it up.  I’m at a pretty comfortable gear level – 531 – so I suspect I should be doing much better.  I’m not dedicated enough to download a spreadsheet and figure out my max dps, but it must be better than I’m putting out.  I was doing well with my cooldowns, too, and my totem and shock uptime, which I do sometimes have trouble with, but overall, I was still in the bottom 25% of damage done.  I was right above the tank (though there were a few dps below him).

On top of that, a lot of my dps was inflated because there’s so much AoE in there, at which, of course, elemental shaman shine, so it’s hard to accurately gauge what I’m really doing when the first 1/3rd of the Garrosh fight I just spam chain lightning and am usually hitting 3 or more targets (and, to be fair, I don’t spam it when there’s only 1 or 2 targets; I know my proper rotation).

So I’m not sure.  I was very happy with my dps when my gear level was low, but now I feel like I’m hitting a wall as I did with fire mage, when I could do okay, but knew I wasn’t above whatever “average” benchmark was out there.

That’s not to say I’m discouraged; I’m moving servers to join my buddy’s guild and have already put feelers out there to find someone who can help review my play and provide some feedback.  Now I just need to brace myself in case that feedback is worse than I expect it to be.

So, we’ll see.  The pally’s staying put for now; there’s no reason to move a blacksmith, but I’ve also considered moving a cadré over to give myself an enchanter and a gemcutter to supplement my play, since every mediocre upgrade costs me about 500g.

Also, that druid I previously mentioned was late because she was – pshaw – doing work for her doctorate.  PRIORITIES, PEOPLE!

Sincerely,

Stubborn (Winner of WoW – that should be a title)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Beshara permalink
    October 18, 2013 9:25 am

    Congrats on the Garrosh kill, and the potential new home!

    • October 18, 2013 1:29 pm

      Thanks (: I suspect it’s more than potential, but again I feel a little like I’m “settling,” though really it’s that I’m being settled upon, as I know I have no real business in a hardmode guild. I think it’ll work out fine, though.
      Thanks for the comment!

  2. October 18, 2013 10:17 am

    Sorry if you’ve said this before, but have you tried askmrrobot.com for reforge/gems/enchants?

    And Icy Veins as a guide to rotations of course.

    • October 18, 2013 1:28 pm

      Yeah, I use both of those sites. I don’t always agree with Mr. Robot, who seems to overvalue haste on ele Shams (compared to what I’ve witnessed with mastery), but I think that may be changing on the site as I’m writing that. Icy Veins, too, leaves out some things, like opening early with EB and then using UE before the first FS, but those are small things I’ve picked up elsewhere.

      I practiced on a target dummy yesterday and was able to hold about 140k, but that’s ideal with no distractions; I’m not really sure how that pans out in a real fight. We’ll see, I suppose, as I raid more.

      Thanks for the comment!

    • October 21, 2013 12:28 pm

      AMR uses default values for classes, they may not be best for you specifically. If you want to get specific values for your own toon, tools like SimC have the option (but it isn’t enabled by default, check the tabs under Options) to calculate those when doing a Simulate. I’m still not 100% certain what those numbers ARE (ie. are they values you should plug into AMR for optimal results? Are they “the value of your NEXT point of X”? What the heck is InvHit?) but I’ve used them to plug directly into AMR and have achieved what seem to be positive results.

      As for UE, I don’t think I’ve ever seen UE used in the standard rotation unless the related talent was taken (and by mentioning EB, you’re indicating that you didn’t take it). What sources are you using for that? Both Icy Veins and Noxxic indicate that UE is never a dps increase without the talent.

      And yeah, as Sven mentions below, the combination of the meta gem and legendary cloak will add ~10-15% (and often more) damage at the same iLvl, it’s something I struggle with since I have two toons of the same class/spec with similar gear but one has the meta/legendary and the other doesn’t… it’s a very noticeable difference and it’s something I constantly have to remind myself of when I see my dps results on the toon that doesn’t. If you don’t have them yet, cut yourself an equivalent amount of slack if you’re comparing yourself to toons that do.

    • October 21, 2013 12:34 pm

      I’ve only seen UE as used before the fight starts with the opening Flame Shock, so it doesn’t use an in-combat GCD. Essentially, what I’ve read (and am practicing) is EB 1-2 secs before pull, UE while EB is in the air, pull happens, FS to start. That’s what I’ve read as a way to steal a few dps at the start of the fight.

      Several people have mentioned the whole cloak thing, so I’m sure that’s a contributing factor, so we’ll have to see where I am once I have the cloak.

      Thanks for the comment!

  3. October 18, 2013 4:53 pm

    Congrats on the Garrosh kill, Stub! Glad things seem to be looking up.

  4. Sven permalink
    October 18, 2013 5:13 pm

    Do you have the legendary meta gem and cloak yet? Don’t underestimate how much those are adding to the others’ dps numbers. The gem alone can be worth up to 10% of their damage done, the cloak can contribute 5-10 million damage per fight.

  5. October 22, 2013 2:12 am

    Re: DPS, I can give you two tips to look out for:

    1. Trinkets > everything else, for caster DPS, ilevel is somewhat irrelevant if you have shite trinkets (i.e. ones bought with valor or timeless coins). I have no idea what pieces you got, but try and get the Totem from the Dark Shaman and either the Amplification trinket from Immerseus or the Black Blood from Garrosh. After that, your weapon is the most obvious upgrade, followed by tier for the set bonus.

    2. Get a way to monitor your procs from trinkets, meta gem, weapon enchant etc. such as TellMeWhen or WeakAuras. It might seem like a pain, but you ideally want to blow cooldowns and heavy damage abilities when all your procs are up, this alone can get you a huge increase in your dps.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

