Skip to content

Antici… … … …pation

September 6, 2013

Dear Reader,

I’m pretty eagerly awaiting 5.4.  While I do like new content, that’s not really why.  I’ve only done half of the bosses in the current tier of “real” raiding, anyway, so it’s not like I’m tired of seeing the same thing.  I didn’t get to raid last night again, either, which was disappointing.  Again, there were too few tanks, and the A team got to go.  We were told another tank would be logging on at “halftime,” which I assumed meant around 9:30 server time, meaning no matter what, half the raid was lost.

Besides, I knew as soon as I heard that it wasn’t going to happen.  I’ve been in too many situations like that to believe it; every time there’ll be a raid “later,” something else comes up and it doesn’t happen.  Sure enough, the guy didn’t show up until after they officially called it, and I didn’t get to raid at all.

That means I’ve gone one time – the lousy 25 man that only got 3 bosses down while at the same time we were having the guild meeting – in six raid days.  I find it unlikely anything’ll happen for me tonight, either, and I never go on Mondays, so it’s likely going to be 1 in 8.  That’s a miserable record.  I signed up to raid, not sit, and while I knew I might have to sit sometimes, and gladly and willingly sat those Mondays when I’d gotten to raid the previous Wednesdays and Thursdays, this is certainly not what I was led to expect.

On top of that, when I apped, I asked what classes and roles they needed.  I had my level 90 elemental shaman, and the web posting said that position was “open,” so when I offered one of anything and the person I spoke said ele shammy was fine, I was happy and didn’t dig any more.  But it turns out one of the officers and one of the long-time raiders (maybe even a raid leader) are ele shammy, and both better geared, so when only one raid goes, it’s not like I’m going to be chosen over either of them (and rightly so, from a gear and dps perspective).  I wish I’d been told then that they needed a pally tank, or a druid of some kind, or anything, because I’d have brought those toons over.  I might not have gotten to raid as much as I did, but then, at least, I would have expected not getting in until 5.4 or so.

I spoke to an officer about this, the generally agreed-upon “nice guy” officer, and he was generally agreed-upon nice about it.  I mostly just confirmed that in a similar situation in 5.4, we’d have done a flex raid instead of benching – eventually – 11 people.  He didn’t want to completely commit to that, but I think I got enough to feel reassured that it’s a temporary problem, not a long-term one.  I can live with a temporary problem if there’s an obvious fix in the future.  I also understand they really want to finish the tier and get “ahead of the curve” before time runs out, and since they got their first downs of both Iron Qon and the Twin Consorts in one night, I suspect they won’t have a problem achieving that.

So I truly am happy for them, but it’s still a bummer that yet again I had to sit and do nothing really meaningful for two hours.  The last hour of the would-be raid, after they’d called it, I leveled my paladin some more.  If we’re short by 1 tank so often, then I might as well have a solution instead of just complaining.  Paladi – now Stubbourn (they wouldn’t release my real name) is mid-way through 88 and doing all right.  Some dungeons are very smooth, others I feel like wet tissue paper.  I’m not sure if it’s me or the healers (or, likely, both); sometimes I see healers dpsing when I’m dropping, and I pop my cds and heal myself a bit to survive, but that irritates the hell out of me.  I don’t care if you’re bored; do your job first.

I seem to be getting only 2 dungeons over and over, which may be by design but also means I’m getting sick of them: Shadow-Pan Monastery and Mogushan Vaults.  The last boss in SPM is a pain because the dps just refuse to switch to the orbs about half the time, which means a lot of wipes.  I’m getting to be bad and elitist, and if they don’t switch on the first attempt and we wipe, I just drop.  I can get another group instantly.  I do let them know to focus fire them – some dps seem genuinely surprised that’s how you do the fight – but others just ignore me, and when I catch them out since I can see their targets, I get a host of excuses.  One DK, who I called out during the second round of shadow orb adds, said “I’m dpsing both.”  Well, that’s amazing.  He’s standing next to me, hitting the boss, while the orbs are over there, nowhere near us.  Throwing a few dots – which he must of done instantly since I never saw his target change – isn’t the same thing as focus firing them down.

Ah well, that’s leveling dungeons and LFD in general.  I can tolerate it another level and a half; I just hope there’s a bit more variety because I’m getting to the point of cheering for Garrosh because I hate Taran Zhu so much.  Perhaps his “rising hate” mechanic works both in and out of game.  Where’s my meditation rug?

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and lighting a candle, but cursing the darkness all the same)

Edit/P.S.  I did get to go last night.  Hooray!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Beshara permalink
    September 6, 2013 11:23 am

    For leveling dungeons you’re pretty much stuck with 1-2 at a time until you can do heroics. Once you get to heroics/scenarios all the others open back up. Hopefully the raid situation is a temporary problem. It’s going to be interesting to see how the flex raiding works out. If you need a healer or in training shadow priest for a run or two in the evenings this weekend send me a message.

  2. September 6, 2013 12:02 pm

    I am confused, because you ran with a group last night, a group who didn’t get to go the night before who started from the beginning, and you all got to Megaera. Are you talking about another night?

    Also we don’t have an “A” team, last night the group that went after Lei-Shen was almost entirely the same group that got to him on Wednesday. We build new teams every week based on balance.

    • September 6, 2013 12:29 pm

      I see you did an edit which probably changed the post date, so yeah glad you were able to go last night, and glad folks were flexible to get that going. The previous night sucked because we had 2 tanks on vacation, and our other tank’s car broke down, so that was rough. We felt bad about sitting folks on Wednesday, sometimes real life happens, and this is a result of us trying to keep ranks lean to a certain extent to not sit too many people.

      We do hope flex raid will help alleviate the situation of sitting folks to a certain extent. Obviously 26 people we run into an issue.

      As for elemental shaman, we have 2, we like to try to have 2-3 of each on the roster. Also one of those elemental shaman, has twins on the way, so his game time will be shot soon enough, which is why we were looking for another elemental shaman. And after discussing class openings with the officers last night, we did confirm elemental shaman should be closed.

    • September 6, 2013 1:14 pm

      Yeah, I usually write my posts during my office hours at work, so when they go up the next day, there’s a chance that something’s already shifted. Red really went out of his way to make last night happen, too, so I’m really appreciative to him (and let him know that last night, too).

      As for the “A” team thing in your previous comment, the thing is that you don’t normally have an A team, but over the last two weeks – specifically for the purpose of progression and getting Lei Shen down, the groups were chosen, not rolled for, with progression in mind. I don’t have any problem with that, but it does mean that for these two weeks – and only for these two weeks – there was an A team. I don’t see a problem with that, and I don’t have any illusion that I’m better than anyone you took. It was an official call for a specific purpose, and I’m fine with that. It was just a bummer that everyone else didn’t get as much play as a result.

      As for the recruitment, I don’t have a problem with a deep bench, either; I understand the necessity of it, as we’ve seen the need for having more tanks (even with what – 6 or 7 tanks that are in the guild?) over the past few nights. I’m just thinking that we’re swimming in dps, which is why I’m leveling my paladin. I’d like to help, and since tanking was my first love and I only forced myself to dps do try something new, returning to that safety zone is fine with me.

      Thanks for the comment!

  3. Cain permalink
    September 6, 2013 3:27 pm

    Unfortunately dungeons are quite limited while leveling. At 88 you can potentially get one more in gate of the rising sun. At 85 you only have Jade Temple and the Brewery. At 87 you unlock Shado-Pan and Mogushan. I tend to try and make sure I run each one once while leveling because the initial run with all the quests is a nice chunk of XP, but after that I usually just quest. Most tank’s have enough self healing on their own to pull a ton of mobs and survive so even the lower dps doesn’t slow down questing much.

  4. Samus permalink
    September 6, 2013 4:26 pm

    As I understand it, Flex raids will be a lower difficulty than normal raids. And it is incredibly rare that a guild have exactly 10 people online at raid time, no more no less. So will you be doing flex raids every night? How long before your more “hardcore” raiders start complaining that they want to do harder content?

    It’s like Blizzard finally took an idea that was incredibly obvious over a decade ago, and managed to implement it in a way that still doesn’t fix raiding.

  5. September 8, 2013 9:29 pm

    I’m guessing the devs were still in Cataclysm mode when they designed the Monastery, because that thing is rough, especially the final boss.

    Though needing to use your tank CD buttons seems like an odd complaint to me– I love any opportunity to blow my CDs and be awesome. You might have too rigid a concept of what a healer “should” do in a dungeon. I mean if you asked him to focus on healing you more and he actively refused that’s another matter, but I’m firmly against telling a person they’re playing wrong unless it’s actually causing the group to fail.

    My own raid also just reached Lei Shen over the weekend, but the transition phase was a bit more of a co-ordination check than most of our raiders seemed capable of learning in two nights, so unfortunately no cheeve for us.

    I’m pretty happy with where I ended up. The players are the usual mixed bag of social raiders with a fairly wide spread of skill, but our raid (and guild) leader is an extremely dedicated and competent player who I can tell puts significant time and thought into making our raids happen every week. I’ll gladly be a part of his team.

    (I might also make the comment that talking to your guild leaders directly would probably be a more efficient way of communicating than having them respond to passive-aggressive complaints on your blog.)

    • September 9, 2013 9:50 am

      It did seem like one of those things where I was dropping to 1%, barely saving myself, and then healing myself up w/o any real direct healing going on. I did ask for them to heal more and smite less (after checking that they weren’t smite healing, which they weren’t), and things got marginally better – no more 1% situations, but still a lot more healing on my part than should strictly be necessary. Keep in mind that while threat “isn’t a problem,” (meaning that it can be in extreme situations), one of my best defensive cooldowns and highest damage attacks (holy shield) costs the same resources as my primary self heal, so having to consistently and repeatedly heal myself means I’m not doing the best job possible at defending myself and holding threat.

      Our guild’s in about the same spot as yours, but we have one more night (tonight) to work on him. I have great hopes, too, if they retained their skill over the weekend. They got him to 29% last attempt, so they’re really close, and they’ll have 3 hours tonight to really focus on it.

      As for the last comment, “serious” complaints I do speak to him or another officer about, but the blog a) existed before the guild was a factor and b) was not advertised to the guild. He learned of it and came here of his own volition, and while he’s a welcome guest, I’m not going to change my habits of pondering about things here. When he feels he needs to respond, he can, and we can discuss stuff, but I’m not asking for nor expecting a response to anything I write here. Like I said, if I need one, I’ll speak to him or another officer, as I have for some things. In fact, I let him know previously that he didn’t need to feel like he should defend his guild here, as this is just a venting and thinking space. He said he enjoyed the discourse.

      So while I understand your point, I also disagree on this one.

      Thanks for the comment!

  6. September 9, 2013 12:26 pm

    As someone who prefers the dungeon grind over questing, the last two expansions have really dropped the ball. Especially MOP. Only having 4 dungeons total until 90 was a bust, especially since you only get 2 until 83 and then only get the latter 2 until 90. Dungeon XP is also genuinely terrible now once you step in to late-Wrath era. With the last few toons I’ve leveled to 90, I just do each dungeon once for quest XP/rewards, hope I get an upgrade and just just quest grind out to 90 instead.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

