Skip to content

Decisions

August 2, 2013

Dear Reader,

After taking the time to think about it, converse with some representatives of the guilds, and talk to those around me, I’ve finally made my guild decision.  There were multiple factors, the final of which was that the GM of the start-up guild quit playing.  Building a raiding culture in a newly-established intrigued me.  Building a guild from the ground up I didn’t.

So that big decision is behind me.  I’ve already apped to the established guild and am awaiting a response.  In the meantime, I ran all the LFRs that I’d previous refused to run up to the 3rd Throne of Thunder section.  I’ve only stopped there because I needed to take a break to eat dinner tonight and write this post.  Tomorrow, doctor, the probably finish those last two sections up.

I found the LFRs much as I did my only previous experiences, which were part 1 and 2 of Mogu’shan Vaults.  I don’t know if I was “lucky,” but with a few exceptions, the runs have been pretty easy.  There were certainly opportunities for wipes, but from what I can tell, only on the Troll Council did we do something that should have wiped us and still survived, which was to not dps the possessed troll.  I mean, I was on target, but apparently everyone else thought burning down one of the others would be better.  We survived by a few thousand hit points raid-wide.

The attitude for the most part in LFR has been okay so far.  There weren’t any really terrible jerks, but there were a few smaller jerks, mostly to healers and tanks (surprise surprise).  My dps has been – acceptable, I guess.  On AoE pulls I usually vie for first place, but on real fights, I’m usually around the middle.  I guess it’ll do, and I’ve already begun researching what precisely I’d need to change about my gear should I decide to go healer.  I have very few +hit pieces, mostly +spirit instead, so I’m already doing pretty well.

In those runs, I easily slid above the ilevel 480 cut-off without having to grind or purchase.  The drops were supplemented by just having capped over revered with Shield Wall and Kirin Tor Offensive, which replaced some weak points in my gear.  At this point, I still need an epic wrist and trinket; I snuck a pvp piece in on my shoulders, as it seems that the pvp power itemization does not come from the budget.  Even if it did, I’m pretty sure the item I bought was better than my blue.

I also ran my first scenarios.  I ran normal rather than heroic, because I’m a bit gun-shy of the whole LFD system, but both of them went perfectly smoothly with strangers who were either nice or silent.  In fact, it seems I’m temporarily in Proudmoore’s battlegroup, so I keep seeing people from that server.  Everything I hear about Proudmoore is great, so I feel good ending up with people from there.  Since I’ll likely be moving, though, it won’t last.  I did the first two scenarios in the chain to open up the Barrens weekly quest; I don’t know if there’s more or not, but I’m about to hop a ride to Durotar and find out.  I’m also curious whether or not quests related to scenarios are offered at the start of them; I know I’ve seen a lot and always turned them down, but if I’m going to do them, I’d rather not have to fly around looking for them again.

Since my wife is out of town, I’ve played probably 6-8 hours a day for the last three days; in fact, my wrist is starting to hurt again, so I suspect I need to cool it or take a break.  We’ll see.  I want to finish the ToT LFRs and finish opening up the Barren’s weekly.  After that, I’m not sure.  I can’t see myself just going back to running heroics over and over; that lifestyle killed the game for me, but I’d like to see each of them at least once.  After that, hopefully I’ll be nestled into my new guild for direction.  From there, we’ll see.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and gearing up)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2013 10:14 am

    Hope it goes well! Fingers crossed!

  2. Beshara permalink
    August 2, 2013 10:38 am

    Still hoping things go well for you, even though it sounds like you’ll be going Alliance =P

  3. August 2, 2013 11:44 am

    “There were multiple factors, the final of which was that the GM of the start-up guild quit playing.”

    Heh. That’ll do it.

    “There were certainly opportunities for wipes, but from what I can tell, only on the Troll Council did we do something that should have wiped us and still survived, which was to not dps the possessed troll.”

    You actually want to kill Sul the Sandcrawler before he ever gets a chance to be possessed – which means you try to kill him WHILE ALSO trying to make sure the current possessed troll does not hit 100 energy. In LFR this coordination is harder – but I’m assuming they were saying to focus on Sul when he wasn’t possessed.

    “At this point, I still need an epic wrist and trinket; I snuck a pvp piece in on my shoulders, as it seems that the pvp power itemization does not come from the budget.”

    Correct – a 476 PvP item has the exact same power in PvE as a 476 PvE item – it just has free bonus PvP stats. Which means you can get 476 in every slot but weapon/trinkets via honor gear and you can get 496 pieces from conquest.

    “I also ran my first scenarios. I ran normal rather than heroic, because I’m a bit gun-shy of the whole LFD system, but both of them went perfectly smoothly with strangers who were either nice or silent.”

    You cannot use LFD for heroic scenarios – you need a pre-made group of 3 people.

    “I’m also curious whether or not quests related to scenarios are offered at the start of them; I know I’ve seen a lot and always turned them down, but if I’m going to do them, I’d rather not have to fly around looking for them again.”

    Nope. They’re just 50g bonuses or whatever if you find the quest, do the scenario, and go back to the person. They have no important rewards, they’re simply breadcrumbs to draw your attention to the scenarios.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

