Skip to content

Pleasant Surprises

July 24, 2013

Dear Reader,

I’ve had a few pleasant surprises over the last few days.  The first of them was the nice responses I got to my guild search.  I heard both on Twitter and via our correspondence of a few opportunities, all of which I plan to look into.

I want to clarify first, partially because of a suggestion I got and partially because, upon reflection, I know I wasn’t perfectly clear about an important point:

 While it would be acceptable to me to step into a guild and begin raiding almost immediately (upon reaching gearing level), I’m not looking explicitly  for that.  I’m more than happy to sit the bench while I get to know people in the guild and vice versa.  

I don’t begin to imagine I’m ready to jump into end-game stuff right away, neither from my gear level nor from my play, which is likely grossly out of practice.  So if you read my post and thought, “Well, he seems like he’d be a great fit, but we don’t have a spot for him, so I guess we’re (or he’s) out of luck,” please go ahead and send me your information; I’m more than willing to wait.

It was also suggested I link my character’s armory information, which I’m happy to do.  My level 90, Iambic (A), is the closest to “raid ready,” but I’m well aware her gearing is too low.  My other characters, Paladi (A) and Stubborn (H), have the relevant achievements I mentioned in my raiding resumé.  My other characters, only as proof they exist, are (horde side) Palmetto, Pious, Darthfarb, Greendel, and DavyOrckett, and (alliance) Magnificient and Lycandra.  I haven’t really raided on Iambic (by which I mean I haven’t raided outside of LFR at all, and I think only once in LFR since I was still a bit opposed to it.  Now, I think my “stronger” feelings have mellowed).

I realize wherever I end up I’ll need to both prove my dedication and capability, so if my initial post came off too strongly, I didn’t mean it to; I’m just very gung-ho to get started again.  I suspect I’ll wait until this weekend, when my wife goes out of town, and then really start pouring over the suggestions sent to me and hop on a few servers for some cold conversations, which are by far the hardest part of this process.  

The second pleasant surprise had to do with the Steam Sale (and so many pleasant surprises do).  I purchased Sang-froid, a game on the surface about killing wolves.  I’d heard some good things from a few of you, and it had piqued my interest because it was the first game I remember in the greenlight process that I voted for (I’m mean; I vote a vast majority of them down.  I only vote up things I know I’d buy).  When its price fell, I snatched it up.

Keep in mind alongside Sang-froid I purchased Monaco, Dishonored, To the Moon, Dungeons of Dredmore, and The Incredible Adventures of Van Helsing, so when I tell you that I’ve already finished Sang-froid, I want you to know that it means not only that it’s good but that it kept my easily-distracted gaming attention away from all the other games in the meantime.

It was excellent.  The story was intriguing, the gameplay was fun, and the vast opportunity for problem solving with so many moving parts was a blast.  I have no complaints at all about the game, and as you know, dear reader, that’s a rarity.

I’ve played most of the other games in the list by now, except Dishonored, which I’m keeping for the future.  Each one has been excellent in its own regard, and despite my lukewarm feelings towards Diablo 2-style games, Van Helsing has really impressed me in a lot of ways.  You’ll get a more full report on that in a separate correspondence, though, but likely not until I’ve finished it.  Let it be known, though, that it has several obvious innovations that, now that they’re here, it seems bizarre no one else has provided them.

More on that another time.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and preparing)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2013 8:14 am

    Just think – if you’d waited for 5.4 to drop you would have to post your Proving Ground scores as part of a guild search.

    I’m looking forward to them but I can’t even begin to imagine how they are going to be misused by people who want a quick discriminant.

  2. July 24, 2013 2:31 pm

    I actually think that will be a good thing, rimecat. It means that even if you have less raiding experience or worse gear you can post an extremely high proving grounds score that indicates your ability. And because the gear is normalized, it’ll be harder for PUG raid leaders to ask for crazy high scores like they can for ilvl (since they can’t reasonably ask for higher scores than they personally have).

    For example, you see people wanting 515+ ilvl for ToT normal in PUGs at times despite the fact the place is tuned around 496 or so. Proving Ground scores will be Proving Ground scores – they cannot be inflated over time and are not dependent on anyone else.

    • July 25, 2013 7:52 am

      I don’t disagree that the Proving Grounds are a good idea, if not quite correctly planned. Blizzard has answered the “why not at level 30″ question with the standard “let’s see how it goes” response and I’m fine with that. I’m also looking forward to trying all four variations (melee and ranged DPS are different for me).

      What I can see, however, is marginal, would-be elitist, groups and guilds deciding that Blizzard doesn’t know what they are talking about. Finishing Gold is considered to be ready for raiding, at least the mechanical portions. I will place a large wager that we are going to see MSV 10N and even Heroic Scenario/Dungeon PuGs insisting that people not only have the raid/scenario/dungeon achievement and be over-geared, but also have the Proven title. Because we’re just that good, even if we haven’t “bothered” to get the title ourselves.

      Or maybe the years as a DoD contractor and WoW player have left me incurably bitter and cynical.

    • July 25, 2013 9:58 am

      Until we see what the final difficulty is, it’s hard to say anything, It is possible that you can finish Gold but that Gold is nowhere near enough to make you ready for normal mode raiding. Really can’t say yet. Blizzard themself has admitted that it is currently undertuned.

      “Because we’re just that good, even if we haven’t “bothered” to get the title ourselves.”

      Eh, given the normalization, I find it difficult to believe people will accept organizers demanding something the organizer doesn’t have (with some caveats, like if the organizer has a main with a large amount of heroic mode kills or something but hasn’t bothered with Proving Grounds).

Trackbacks

  1. An Early Yearly Rundown, Part 2: The Top 5 | Sheep The Diamond

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

