Skip to content

Giving it a Chance

July 21, 2013

Dear Reader,

Okay, I’ve resubbed.  I’ve even logged in and updated my mods (which took a day).

So now I’m looking for a guild that raids on a consistent but not overwhelming basis (meaning I could feasibly raid 2 nights a week regularly and occasionally 3 or 4).  I’m looking for a guild of adult professionals who have a good sense of humor but aren’t constantly college-dorm vulgar.  I prefer to raid with adults, but I’m not opposed to kids, just wary of their reliability.

I’m looking for a guild that takes raiding seriously but understands that it’s a hobby, not a job, and that the players are people with responsibilities outside of the game from time to time.  On the other hand I also believe in the social contract that comes with end-game raiding, and prefer guilds that have set rules about punctuality and preparation and spend their raiding time raiding, not desperately looking for a 10th player because one or more of the sign-ups no-showed or consistently waiting on late players who “just need to get their gear gemmed.”  I like raiding that’s responsible but reasonable.  I’ve called this type of raiding “part-core,” part-time but hardcore.

I can deal with server transfers OR faction transfers, but I’d really prefer to avoid paying for both.  I’ve got plenty of characters and a blank-slate willingness to play any of them (though I can’t promise how well just yet).

I have a horde druid, rogue, mage, death knight, hunter, and priest,

I have a an ally paladin, warrior, warlock, and shaman.

My only 90 is the shaman, but everything else is 85 (except the warrior, who’s 81), and thus could be 90 pretty quickly, giving me time to get to know the guild members and culture before diving straight in to the tough stuff.

I have lots of experience; I participated in successful end-game content raids in each expansion up to Pandaria and led successful raids in Naxx (10 and 25).  I’ve done heroic modes, too, through ICC.

I’m looking to get started soon, so please if you’re even remotely interested email me through my contact page or shoot me a tweet @sheepthediamond.  I’m just looking to converse at this point before making any firm decisions, but I’m also excited (and anxious) to get started.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and hoping to hear something from someone)

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2013 7:21 pm

    I was having this dilemma a week or so ago, really craving to play WoW but I really don’t have any incentive to. Like you, I enjoy the game with people and with purpose. I’m also super turned off at the prospect of paying a monthly fee. Cheap/free games have spoiled me.

    I’d very much like to raid if I ever resubscribe. I don’t see how I’d enjoy it otherwise.

  2. July 23, 2013 9:08 am

    <$0.50 a day seems fairly cheap to me. Also <$0.50 per hour if you play 7+ hours a week. Maybe I'm just crazy and remember feeding quarters into arcade machines at a considerably higher rate than that.

    I also can't help but think many people will happily spend $5+ on a drink at a bar – skip three of those a month and you've paid for WoW.

    On a happier note, I agree with the raiding part – I wouldn't be subscribed to WoW without participating in some high end group activity (raiding or PvP), which I happily am doing at the moment. I might resubscribe to see patches but I have zero desire to be a permanent random BG or LFR hero.

    Hope you hear something soon, Stubborn – you feel inclined to link your shaman's armory?

    • July 23, 2013 6:47 pm

      Thanks for the suggestion; I wasn’t sure if linking would be a good idea, since, you know, I’ve nothing much to be proud about from recent content. Still, they’ll all be up tomorrow.

      Thanks for the comment!

    • July 23, 2013 8:17 pm

      Speaking from my own perspective, if someone came to me right now and said “I haven’t raided in an expansion and a half and I can’t play much anymore, but I’m interested in your 2 night guild and I have a US top 25 H Lich King kill” or something like that I would be *extremely* interested in talking to them if they have the achievement to prove it. Simply because that past raiding is a strong indicator of ability – someone who was willing to wipe for weeks on H Lich King and who was in a guild capable of getting a highly ranked guild is probably someone we want.

      I realize you’re not trying to get in full heroic clearing guilds and you don’t have quite that history, but showing consistent raiding in the past with reasonable dates helps reinforce that you’re worth taking a chance on and investing in – because you’ve demonstrated you were worth it in the past. It’s a resume of sorts – having ANY sort of consistent job is much better than not having it at all, right?

      On a practical note, having the link easily accessible might get you more hits – especially given that you’d rather not server AND faction transfer. Since people can’t easily tell which server and faction you’re on, people who might otherwise consider you might say “Eh, not sure the bother to find out whether he’d even be interested in us anyway.”

      Final note: I’d also strongly recommend you make a thread on the guild recruitment forums. You’re likely to get some hits there and if you’re feeling particularly adventurous you can go through the guild threads and look to see if any match your criteria.

    • July 25, 2013 12:59 am

      You guys love to trot out the “but a beer costs $5/.50 line” :) It unfortunately misses the point about being unimpressed with the prospects of paying again.

      Resubscribing to WoW is an upfront expense for some of us, especially if you need to buy expansions. $15/mo is money a player has to spend to play. I also think its a little presumptuous when people suggest it’s nothing because it tries to imply that ANYONE can afford that. That’s a nice position to be in, but thats just not the financial reality for many of us when every dollar counts. Its also a matter of value. I struggle to believe the game is worth the value any more, but Im sure an opportunity to see for myself may arise in the future. In fact, its the single greatest reason I eventually dropped my subscription. You guys might remember I dropped my WoW annual pass and bought D3 outright in order to NOT pay for WoW anymore. It just hasn’t been worth it to me :(

      I think another part of it is knowing I’ll login and while I might enjoy the new stuff, the reason Ive got this itch to play is because Im craving the old stuff ..and that experience is simply not there any more.

  3. July 25, 2013 9:53 am

    “I also think its a little presumptuous when people suggest it’s nothing because it tries to imply that ANYONE can afford that.”

    I’m not claiming that ANYONE can afford it…but it is a whole two hours of work per month at minimum wage. And people often spend at least $15 a month on other stuff they could easily cut back on – going out to eat, getting drinks, buying random stuff, etc.

    It sort of reminds me of something I saw on the Dungeons and Raids forum a few days ago – someone was complaining that $25 was outrageous to charge for a server transfer and someone else pointed out that “So you’re willing to pay $180 a year for a game you apparently hate but unwilling to pay $205 a year to turn it into a game that you love?”

    That said, if you don’t like WoW, then maybe $0.50 an hour isn’t worth it…but generally speaking, most entertainment goes for FAR more.

    “I think another part of it is knowing I’ll login and while I might enjoy the new stuff, the reason Ive got this itch to play is because Im craving the old stuff ..and that experience is simply not there any more.”

    What old stuff are you craving, exactly? Actual specific things that are different now or just general nostalgia?

  4. July 25, 2013 6:36 pm

    Not that i don’t like you Stubborn, but we raid at Aussie times – not great times for you! However, come 5.4 our guild will be doing flex raids once a week, which is Sunday Australian time (which maybe Sunday morning your time but I’m not quite sure on that. It might be something ridiculous like 6 or 7am Sunday) and if you are geared for that you are welcome to come, because we’ve been missing the whole “guild raids together” thing that seems to have disappeared when 10mans started being the way to push content. But I will chat to you in game about it Stubborn :)

    • July 26, 2013 12:28 pm

      The funny thing is, I checked to see if you were in an Aussie guild or whether you played cross-zone because my buddies in Germany are playing with Aussie guilds regardless of the time difference. I was sad to see you were, in fact, in an Aussie and not EU guild (;

      Still, I appreciate the offer. I’ve got a list of 4 guilds I’m going into this weekend with, though, so I think at least one will work out.

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

