Skip to content

Mutually Exclusive Desires

July 17, 2013

Dear Reader,

I’ve been dabbling a lot recently, and it’s been mostly enjoyable.  In any 24 hour time period, I’m likely to play 4 or 5 different games.  There is a drawback, though; It struck me that it gets harder to write about gaming if you’re not really in-depth into any particular game.  The dedication and knowledge required to play some games simply creates more writing fodder than being a dilettante.

I sort of miss that, in fact.  I like having something to think about outside of actual game time, which being deep into MMOs often provides.  I actually updated my WoW, but while it was updating, Steam started giving me fits with an update, and by the time I had that resolved, I didn’t really feel like resubbing my WoW account again.  I’ve been playing a lot of Civ 5 with my wife, which is very enjoyable (except she needs the turn timer but forbids me from putting one into our games), but as long-term as a Civ game can be (did you know there’s a mode that has as many turns per era as an entire normal game?  Crazy!), it’s nothing compared to the hours one can sink into a good MMO.

So I ran around in Secret World, but since the Steam sale’s on, I don’t want to buy issue 6 or 7 and not have any left in my “games” budget for something surprising in Steam.  So I loaded up Guild Wars 2 and ran around a bit on my mesmer, but it wasn’t nearly as much fun as playing with my wife.

So it seems what I want may be mutually exclusive.  I want something with depth and challenge that’s not too difficult or too demanding, and that I can play with others but not too much of the game depends on their input.  When I write it out like that, it seems extremely picky and self-centered, so perhaps what I really need is just a reality check.

I talked to my buddy about this, who as I’ve mentioned is temporarily blind and is suffering from mobility issues, and he said he suspects we’re “maturing out of games.”  I don’t know if I buy into this.  Maturing out of games makes it seem like games are for the immature, but perhaps what he meant was that I’ve simply gotten all I can out of the currently available stock.  Maybe.  Perhaps I’m consuming too much too quickly, too, which I’ve already written about being a problem during my summers.

Tomorrow I’m going to start back up my swimming regimen with more dedication than I’ve had the past few weeks. so maybe that will help.  Only time will tell.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and finicky)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2013 1:49 pm

    Hmm. If you like shooters at all, you could try Mass Effect 3 multiplayer – it has depth in terms of building the characters and choosing loadouts, has four different difficulty levels, and has teams of four players versus AI (though if you’re good enough you can solo, so even if others mess up you can finish the game if you’re playing on one of the easier difficulties).

  2. kaleedity permalink*
    July 18, 2013 10:16 am

    I’ve been playing through, of all things, the old mega man games. I had never been able to complete them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

