Skip to content

The Ray Smith Plan

April 22, 2013

Dear Reader,

After my last post, in which I was complaining about the unequal economic outcomes of various leveling paths, one of my wonderful commentators rather sardonically wrote

You want to make some gold from pet battles?

Step 1: Buy L1 pet on existing server where you have a bit of gold
Step 2: Level pet on new server where you don’t
Step 3: Sell pet at more than it would have been worth at L1

I don’t do pet battles but this seems pretty obvious to me…

Well, yes.  When you say it like that, it does, doesn’t it?  The tone of the rest of the comment was a bit more acerbic than that, too, but regardless, beggars can’t be choosers, and I was essentially begging for ideas.

So I wanted to take a moment to thank that commentator, Ray Smith, for the idea.  I’m going to be starting a test on “The Ray Smith Plan” to see how it works.  I’m going to buy a cheap rare pet off the AH, level it up there, though I’m not sure if 25 is the right choice or not, and then attempt to resell it.

Now I’m in a position, though, of almost total ignorance.  I made a point about not wanting to conquer the AH markets on my servers, but perhaps this smaller, niche market might be more my speed.  What I’m facing, though, is a starting dearth of knowledge.  I know I can always turn to Navi for pet battling advice (as well as many of you other excellent bloggers, but she comes to my mind first), but I’m not sure that the pet market is really that strongly connected.

I’m going to have to do some work to answer these (and perhaps more, as a result of the answers) questions:

What pets are popular?

What pets work well at higher levels?

What’s the level to gold ratio for reselling?

Are there reselling “Sweet spots,” where you can max your price before going into another long leveling channel?

How strong is the buying market for pets?

Will people buy below level 25?

These are just off the top of my head; I’m sure more will come.  I’m interested to hear from anyone else trying to work this market or getting some good websites on this information; a lot of what’s out there is too crowded with speculation; I’d prefer hard data, which is what I’ll try to present along the way.

Anyhow, it’s something to do!

Sincerely,

Stubborn (Ashstone Core to 15 is my first data point: bought for 125g, what will people offer for it then?)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2013 2:24 pm

    Hell, I’ve never done much pet battles (think I have a level 13, 5, and 1 or something) but I’d be curious about this. Normally I make Netherweave Bags to get money on a new server (if I’m a tailor) or farm Small Eggs for Winter Veil. Would be interesting to know what kind of profit you can actually get from this.

    • April 22, 2013 3:59 pm

      Me too! I’ll let you know when I know more, or, if you’d like to both do a round or two of this and combine data, I’d be happy to have it. The link R’s comment to BBB’s post gives a good fast-leveling strat.

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. April 22, 2013 2:26 pm

    There’s more than a bit of irony that the first, and likely only, blogger plan in my name has to do with pet battles, something I’ve never even trained, let alone done. More than a bit horrifying, too.

    Just to finish off my contribution so I can retreat back to the shadows and slowly work to repair my legacy, here are some thoughts and observations strictly from the perspective of a non-pet battler who only ever deals in L1 pets as far as he knows, some of this may be useful in setting your expectations:

    * The service of leveling a pet from 1 to 25 on my main server is 2.5K – 3K. I suspect this is done via one of a few different … optimal leveling paths that exist in the game at the moment and may or may not long-term. So, in theory, a L25 pet should be worth 2.5K – 3K more than a L1 pet, possibly more if those … optimal paths are removed. One example:

    http://thebigbearbutt.com/2013/04/15/late-to-the-party/

    You can adjust the premium based on what that service is worth on your server. You might even get a bit more since there’s likely some trust required in using someone to level pets for you.

    * My original 3 step process wasn’t intended to be quite as specific as buying a L1 rare pet off the AH… I almost never buy pets off the AH, I buy almost exclusively from vendors and sell the L1 pets on other servers as L1 pets. I’ll concede, though, that selling leveled non-rare pets likely won’t be as lucrative as selling leveled rare pets, if at all. I suspect my L1 pet sales are to collectors, not battlers, but there’s a market there as well.

    * Leveling the pet on the new server using a leveling toon will be far from the optimal way to get a pet from 1 to 25 (or the level of your choice)… a technique like the one BBB mentions in the link above would obviously be more efficient. However, the point of my suggestion was to point out a way you could do pet battles while leveling and likely make some gold, not to make maximum gold. If the goal is just to get as much gold over to that server as possible so you can buy gear for your PvP or pet battling toon, it would likely be better just to level the pet on your main server first.

    * I’m not sure if the popular AH add-ons (Auctioneer, Auctionator) show pet level… if not, it may be harder to get any sort of premium on the AH, you may need to bark in trade. They probably do, just don’t want to assume.

    • April 22, 2013 4:03 pm

      Thanks for that link – that’s the exact kind of information I needed. Funny thing is, I remember that post from a few days ago when it went up, but had completely forgotten about it by the time I decided to do this (;

      You’re right about my goal here; I’m going to test BBB’s suggestion (not that I doubt it, but just for a test run) on my main, then see about pricing and so forth. I’ve already been tinkering with leveling up level 1s to appropriate level for my DK, but it’s not nearly as fast (of course) as what BBB described. Still, each battle gives about a quest’s worth of XP (not sure if that holds up to 85 or not, but at 75 it does), so I’m still willing to work through it. Plus, it breaks up the monotony of 1000 HoS’s, so I can still do one or two of those when I’m tired of pet battling; it’s not like tanking them is every going to become challenging.

      Regardless, thanks for the information, the suggestion, and the comment!

  3. Beshara permalink
    April 23, 2013 6:17 pm

    Here is a thought I had recently. Another option may be to buy green quality pets that you can’t get blues of, use a stone on them, then resell or level and resell. My favorite mechanical pet, personal world destroyer, only comes in green rarity. The other engineering pets are the same way. Also, the children’s week pets are like that too, and that event starts next week. I know once I hit the beasts of fable fights, I wished I had more blue mechanical pets leveled. Not everyone has a clockwork gnome (or like me, didn’t use it because it was a gnome).

    The raid achievement pets may still be worth farming weekly, and in 5.3 the new BC ones should sell nicely.

    • Beshara permalink
      April 23, 2013 6:21 pm

      Or offer in trade to “sell” battle pet stones for cage-able pets

    • April 24, 2013 3:59 pm

      I did consider that, actually; I had 4 family-specific battle stones I had saved from when I was leveling before, and I really considered the option of burning them on pets I wanted versus burning them on pets I could resell.

      Naturally, I burned them on my pets (; Too bad I didn’t wait a little longer.

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

