Skip to content

Lovely Denver

February 27, 2013

Dear Reader,

I’m here in the Downtown Sheraton in lovely Denver, Colorado, the Mile High City.  It’s been, well, boring, actually.

I mean it’s been okay; I went and saw the Firefighter’s Museum which had some neat old artifacts that you look at and just think “Jesus.  Fire’s haven’t changed that much in 150 years, but look at what they used to have to fight them with.”  I also went to the Molly Brown (as in “The Unsinkable”) museum, which was also pretty cool.  It had a lot of information about how she rose in wealth, bucked social tradition, and survived two devastating ship sinkings. 

But that only filled so much time, and it turns out that the conference which “starts” Wednesday really starts Thursday, as all Wednesday has is an orientation for new people and a “reception,” which sounds like a something I’ll probably drop into for a half hour and then leave.  Additionally, I was travelling with three people, one of which is here in Denver but non-contactable and two of which got stuck in Illinois and haven’t arrived yet. 

What can I say?  I’m a homebody.  I like sitting around with my wife, having friends over, and playing games.  Going to another city certainly is a lot of work for the 2 or so hours I spent in the museums.  Hell, I’ve spent more time playing On the Rain-soaked Precipe of Darkness 3 on my Kindle than anything else.  My greatest apologies to world travellers like Ophelie and Navimie, but I just don’t get it.

That said, I’ve already marked a lot of very intersting-sounding presentations for tomorrow and Friday morning, some of which challenge my concepts of teaching (particularly the portfolio system), so I’m quite interested in what they have to say.  It just can’t get here fast enough.

On a completely separate note, Samus was right; the Tribunal is available at level 20.  I’ve already read and reviewed several cases, pardoning more than I thought I might, but punishing others.  It’s been IMMENSELY satisfying.  I’ll write a full post on it once I’m back home.

Until then, enjoy your week!

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and well above sea level)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. kaleedity permalink*
    February 27, 2013 12:35 pm

    I believe in all of my work travel I walked around Gaeta, Italy for a few hours and I went to the San Diego zoo once because I had the weekend off. Most of my time spent playing low scale stuff or watching things in my hotel room; anything from making use of the HDMI slots on my netbook to watch someone livestream castlevania 3 speed runs, starcraft tournaments, or a bunch of giantbomb’s persona 4 endurance run. That’s not to mention the torrent-ables. I believe I also finished a stack of 90s era SNES games on an emulator.

    Then again, the majority of my work travel demanded minimum 8 hour days (up to double!) and 7 day weeks, so I felt bad doing stuff out of work. It didn’t help that they never sent me to anywhere too interesting beyond Italy. As of now, I probably won’t do much work travel in the near future because I’ve been sent to another project.

    In other news I’ve been meaning to call you about PAX plans and I’ll get in touch soon.

    • March 5, 2013 9:44 am

      You watch Castlevania 3 speed runs. That’s all anyone ever needs to know about you! (;
      Seriously, though, I did do a few cool things before the conference, and then the conference itself was good, so it wasn’t a bad experience, you just know how I get when I travel.
      Yeah, give me a call about PAX; it’s right around the corner!

  2. Tellah permalink
    February 27, 2013 6:28 pm

    I’d love to get your views on the portfolio system of results measurements…especially if it’s something along the lines of public schools. :)

    • March 5, 2013 9:48 am

      I have no idea what the public schools are doing where you are, but I can tell you what I do. I have my students write a full essay for me every day of class. Each day, I conference with people about their latest essay, giving them suggestions on how to improve for future essays. Then, three times throughout the semester, they choose their best work, revise it, write some reflective notes, and turn it in for me to grade. Those six essays provide the lion’s share of their grade. Since they get some much writing practice, so much feedback, and get to do a majority of it in low-stakes environments, they’re able to do a lot of experimenting about what works for them so they can find their personal best outcomes (those, of course, who are their to learn, which is not all of them). I call it “immersive writing,” like immersive language acquisition, since writing – especially in formal academic tone – is essentially just another method of communication.
      Not sure if that’s like where you are, but that’s what I do!
      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

