Skip to content

Leveling PvP

February 1, 2013

Dear Reader,

As I’ve mentioned I’ve been leveling with my wife as well as a little bit on my own through LFD.  While it’s been chaotic at times, we haven’t really run into many problems, which has been a huge relief  - so far.  However, to break up the monotony of our fourth Blackfathom Deeps run, we decided to do a little leveling PvP, as well.  Since we’ve both been in rated groups in the past and I’ve leveled a rogue almost entirely through PvP, we’re in a good place strategically, yet it’s been a bit of pain.

The reason we’ve run into some problems is the well-documented problem of heirlooms.  Despite the implicit promise made by Blizzard now three patches ago of “account bound” items, we’ve started on a new server and have zero access to decent gear.  We do okay because we’re also leveling in dungeons, but the fact remains that we have plenty of green pieces and out-of-date blues while being matched against “state of the art” heirloomed-out beasts.

As a result, we only pvp when we’re in the top two levels of a bracket, and we do dungeons when we’re in the lower tiers.  That’s helped some, but I’ve come across players with twice my hit points at the same level due to their gearing.  What this often means is that my wife and I get destroyed in direct confrontations.  We’ve had single “squishy” players who were able to kill both of us – keeping in mind I’m a healer – before we could kill them.  It’s been very frustrating at times.

At the same time, it’s caused us to rethink our bg strategies.  Since it’s basically impossible to survive a direct confrontation (and my disc priest screams “kill me” in bgs), we’ve both had to become much smarter pvpers.  In fact, we’ve played a lot of hit-and-run games in AB where we both go and attack a flag – looking like we’re a small force – which pulls enemy players from other flags.  We’ve also been primo flag defenders since she can take a beating in tank form while I heal.

Regardless, it can be frustrating to get constantly dogged in WSG by players with twice the hit points. It frequently gets to a point where either our team is obliterating there’s or vice versa, and rarely does strategy factor in.  It’s a leveling bg, so that’s fine; I don’t expect strategy to be high on anyone’s list of priorities, but if all pvp is during leveling is a bloodbath where heirlooms come out on top, perhaps something should be done about that.

Otherwise we’ll need to change the name from player versus player to heirlooms versus heirlooms plus some other players thrown in.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and leveling)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2013 9:11 am

    Sorry you’ve had to experience this issue. I think I discovered the imbalance on my heirloomed characters (I didn’t do low level bgs when I first started playing). I decided immediately that I would never bg without them again, unless I was THE highest level for a bg.

    In 5.2, this problem is exacerbated by the fact that a level 16 character will be boosted to the strength of a 19. So a 16 with heirlooms will probably still smash your face in while you’re 19 without them.

    I also feel severely underpowered in dungeons, because unless I’m tanking my dps can’t match the guy with heirlooms. If I’m healing, I can’t feel like a healing god anymore. If I’m tanking, I don’t feel like a god of war anymore. Oh I know I’m spoiled now, but I miss the power!

    In short, I don’t start on new servers without transferring a character with my many, many heirlooms over.

    In shorter, I don’t start on new servers anymore ._.

    My last attempt is still at level 30 with a severe lack of motivation. Sorry, Alliance friend on Aggramar.

    • February 1, 2013 10:07 am

      I was upset at first, too, but the more I thought about how she and I could counter the overwhelming strength of our opponents, the more I started to think that maybe it wasn’t so bad. Sure, it stinks to get ganked over and over, but since we both use good bg communication and know the strategies, it’s even more rewarding when she uses her monk stun to peel an aggressive, heirloomed dps off our FC long enough for the rest of the pack (and myself) to catch up, heal, and dps the jerk down. Additionally, the priest level 15 grasping tentacles thing is NUTS in bgs; I get killed a lot after I get in position, but locking those idiots down while the FC gets away is worth the death.

      Still, of course, I do wish it was more balanced.

      I’m afraid I may run into that motivational problem, too, but we’ll see. I started a new toon named Stubborn (more on that Monday) because I wasn’t really feeling the priest (despite shadow tentacles), so maybe that’s all I need, a class I appreciate more (I ABSOLUTELY LOVE stealth) and a name that I’m proud of.

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. February 1, 2013 10:16 pm

    I’ve never had low level toons PvP since vanilla, and with heirlooms I can imagine you would be quickly outgeared – especially with no gold on a new server! But it sounds like you’re giving it a good go!

    • February 4, 2013 10:07 am

      I’m doing what I can, I suppose, but at least I’m trying. I think we’ll probably stick to that formula at least until the expansion tier, where the BC geared people become nightmarish even for heirloomers. I’m not sinking 1000g to pvp gear my toon for each expansion ahead of time, so it’ll probably just be a lot of dungeons then. We’ll see!

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

