Skip to content

Changes Great and Small

November 29, 2012

Dear Reader,

As I’m sure you’re keenly aware, the 5.1 patch came out yesterday.  I have very mixed feelings (that may be the most commonly used phrase other then “Dear Reader” on this blog) about the whole thing.  It shouldn’t, but it bothers me when I skip/miss a whole tier of raiding.  No matter how much you hear about visiting old raids, people don’t really do that too often.  Additionally, often those retro-raids are not taken very seriously, so you don’t get the original experience as intended.  Still, it shouldn’t bother me, right?

I’m pretty excited about the pet battle improvements.  A more functional UI, extra information, and more pets all equates to a better experience.  I finally capped a pet to level 20 with a couple more at 19, so I’ve made my first foray into the Outlands.  I found the Kalimdor and Eastern Kingdom Master Pet Battlers to be pushovers, for the most part, though the nasty attack the blue dragon pet in the Eastern Kingdoms does is a very demoralizing way to start off a battle.

I’m looking forward to upgrade stones in my pet bags, too, though I’m terribly unlucky at things like that (I still haven’t gotten the pet that comes out of the bags).  I’m also curious about some of the retro-raid pets, particularly if one drops only (that’s my assumption) or one per player.  I’ll find that out soon enough when I step into Molten Core.  I am baffled why Kara – the most beloved of raids for most people – was left out of the retro pet rotation; there are plenty of opportunities inside for pets and the master tamer’s just outside.  Bizarre.

As for factions, I just hit exalted with the Tillers.  As a result, I decided to work on some other reputations, and I began pushing Klaxxi and Golden Lotus up.  I’ve found that I can’t drive myself to do tons and tons of dailies without a reason; one faction’s set or two seem to be about all I want.  My wife, though, bless her, is chewing through the reps like crazy.  She was excited about the new faction – the Shieldwall for allies – and took us there last night to check it out.  It was an interesting event, but to be honest I felt like I was in Twilight Highlands all over again.  Or Icecrown.  Or Shadowmoon Valley.  Or Silithus… there just seems to be at least one of these types of “skirmish” territories in each expansion.  That’s not really a complaint about the content, though, as TwiHi was one of my favorite Cata zones, but about originality.

I think my uncertainty about my WoW future is what’s driving all of this, though, and there’s a simple solution to that: get certain.  I know I need to, as they say, pee or get off the lunchbox (that story will never stop being funny).  So I’ll put it out there.  I want to raid.  I’m looking for a raiding guild for adults – and I mean that – no kids that aren’t directly controlled family members – that has a serious attitude but a schedule that’s realistic for working adults.  My “good” guild really split those two lines perfectly, and I hope I can find another.

I was offered by a local friend to join her guild, but she made the mistake of telling me that some of her raiders were pretty hard core and could come off as elitist.  “Sorry,” I said, “I just think I’m past that.”  I think I insulted her by accident with the “past that,” but I meant it.  I beyond caring that much.  You can take something seriously without letting it consume you, and that’s my goal.  If I can find that, great.  If not, well, I guess I’ll get back on the lunchbox.

In other words, here we go again.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and filled with just enough hope to try this, but just enough dread to not be that excited just yet)

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Solanti permalink
    November 29, 2012 6:47 am

    “5.1 patch came out yesterday … it bothers me when I skip/miss a whole tier of raiding.”
    But unlike most major patches, 5.1 didn’t add any new raids, so you haven’t skipped a whole tier of raiding (yet).

    • November 29, 2012 4:53 pm

      Well, I thank you for that point, and you’re right; I was overstating my situation a bit (;

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. November 29, 2012 6:56 am

    O Stubborn, you’re so… stubborn. Hehehe. I’m looking forward to many more raid-related drama posts – I mean, good luck! ;)

    • November 29, 2012 4:54 pm

      There’s going to be a fair share of guild-finding related drama first, I’d assume. I haven’t even started to think about that, or looking on the same server or a different one. I’ve got to talk it over with my wife first, too, and perhaps my buddy (though I don’t think he’ll be interested). Regardless, thanks for the comment!

  3. November 29, 2012 11:00 am

    Not to ignore the raid drama (being a Holy Priest in vanilla convinced me to never raid with other people again) but what I’m finding most jarring about the patch is Wrynn the Chin. He basically didn’t evolve as a character through Wrath and Cata, now he’s become a conscientious leader and coalition builder? I suppose Jaina becomes a bloodthirsty brute bent on vengeance at all costs?

    Overall it’s an ok story element, I just wish that they focused more on the dueling Admirals and the SI:7 agents (who are seriously motivating me to work on my Rogue) and less on the inexplicable transformation of Varian Wrynn beyond the second dimension. Or, even better, if they used the campaign to start his transformation rather than presenting it as a mysterious change that occurred off camera.

    I am seriously looking forward to revisiting Razergore and C’Thun now that they should be solo-possible (yes, I know the trick with C’Thun but the mob failed to pull me out the time I tried).

    • November 29, 2012 4:56 pm

      Yes, it does certainly seem a bit sudden. I, too, would have preferred more of a slow change over this xpac, which would make him a better foil for Garrosh than the sudden Mr.-Nice-Guy act. It’s one of many, many story narrative mistakes WoW’s made over the years, so it doesn’t surprise me that much, in the end.

      Thanks for the comment!

  4. November 29, 2012 11:23 am

    “I’m beyond caring that much. You can take something seriously without letting it consume you, and that’s my goal.”

    How seriously do you want to take it?

    Are you looking to get some normals down?

    Do you want to clear all normals?

    Are you wanting to get a few heroics down?

    I’m guessing you’re not shooting for full heroic clears, though.

    Also, how many nights are you hoping for (1? 2? 3?) and what character are you playing at the moment?

    • November 30, 2012 9:41 am

      All excellent questions, to which most of my replies are “something in between.” 1 or 2 nights, probably. I’d like to see all the bosses. That’s about it, really; I think my hard mode stuff’s behind me, but I wouldn’t say no if my group organically progressed to that level.

      Good questions!

    • November 30, 2012 5:42 pm

      Well, here’s a fallback offer: my guild runs a “second raid” with alts and friends/family of raiders one night a week. Cleared 6/6 MSV and the first boss in HoF last week (all we had time for in like 3-3.5 hours).

      We’ve been having to PUG nearly half the raid since alts are a lot less attractive now, so that’s something you could consider.

      Personally, I’d recommend elsewhere since my guild is made up of people who generally don’t have much time to play, so it’s not very active outside of raid nights (which are only two nights a week for the main group).

      Still, if you can’t find anything better…feel free to drop me a line. You’d get to see all normal content on one night a week.

  5. November 29, 2012 2:06 pm

    LOL Stubborn I have NO IDEA how my embarrassing confession about how seriously I take my gaming has ended up in this post :P
    But I hope you find something that fits for you. And that comment, whoever said it, about some coming hard core coming of as elitist, sounds exactly like something I would say. Though I don’t think I was the one who said it, because I certainly don’t remember you saying that reply. If I did say it… OMG I need to find my Alzheimers medication. You haven’t seen it have you?

    • November 30, 2012 11:08 am

      Your lunchbox deserves to be a part of every post – forever. It’s just too priceless a “WoW Moment.” I could even see a set of ceramic figurines for WoW players like the Precious Moments one based around the idea of that scene in time. Just replace the desk with a computer monitor and the chair with a lunchbos. It’s just too perfect.

      You needn’t worry; it was someone I play in my Vampire campaign with who made the “a little elitist” comment. We’ve talked for years about getting into a single guild, since all of us play WoW, but separately. She’s been in pretty secure shape for most of the time, but recently had a guild event that moved her to another server where she found a new guild that was up and coming. I thought perhaps now was the time for us all to consolidate, but when she said that, I blanched. I don’t want “a little elitist.” I constantly end up in battles with people who are “a little elitist,” because they never are. They’re just elitist, but because someone knows them, they forgive it. But, you see, I don’t know them. So after all the trial and error it seems it’s just better I avoid a situation like that (; But rest easy; it wasn’t you.

      Thanks for the comment!

  6. November 29, 2012 7:13 pm

    EVERY TIME you talk about guild drama stuff and how you can’t find a decent guild I want to tell you about mine, since I think we have a really good balance between taking the game seriously and having fun, but refrain because I’m sure you’re on a different server, and who knows if you’d even be a good fit, not to mention I’m sure most people think that their guild is the awesomest. I don’t even really know much about what your actual playstyle is like, on the ground, so to speak.

    My battle tag is Coreus#1296– we could at least do a Heroic some time. ^^

    http://drunkenbadgers.enjin.com/ is my guild website, with a few links to progression and so on, if you do want to know more.

    • November 30, 2012 11:09 am

      I’ll definitely add you next time I log on, and we can certainly do some dungeons, though it may be a while before we get to heroics. I usually only play with my wife nowadays, and her play schedule’s a lot more limited than mine, but I’ll keep an eye out! Thanks!

  7. November 30, 2012 11:28 am

    Man, I’ve been raiding like mad this tier and I’m only 3 heroics in. The tier is nowhere near done, don’t worry, only about 3% of the total raiding population has killed Sha on normal.

    I think you’re fine. ;-)

    • November 30, 2012 11:32 am

      Well, thanks for the words of encouragement. Another poster pointed out an obvious fact I’d missed; no actual new tier of raids was added, so that plus your encouragement does make me feel a lot better. I’m going to see what I can do to find a good guild and start ripping into the raids.

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

