Skip to content

My First Day Getting Misty

October 16, 2012

Dear Reader,

I got a lot of good feedback from you on the subject of who to play.  My wife further narrowed the playing field by deciding on her ally pally, limiting my choice to 4, with only two real front runners: the shammy and the pally.  I felt pretty pallied out, honestly, and got a lot of suggestions for the shammy, so when my wife and I loaded up WoW together for the first time in months, I hopped on my shammy and started making decisions.

The first short roadblock I hit was what the hell to do.  I’d played Enhancement as I leveled the shammy, using resto in dungeons, but when I got to 85, I moved to elemental.  It had been a long time since I played Enhancement, and I didn’t know where to start.  I didn’t want to have to go look stuff up to play, but that’s precisely what I did.  Luckily, Icy Veins had just what I needed to get started quickly (for my wife, as well), and within a reasonably short amount of time, we were on the Skyfire bound for light-knew-where.

Enhancement was pretty easy and fun, and as long as I used my free casts for heals, I was very durable (not 12 mobs at once durable, though, I learned after a series of bad pulls while collecting cider).  We pushed through maybe half of the first zone (Jade Forest?) and then called it for the evening.  She spent some time doing jewelcrafting and pet battles, I bummed around doing mostly the same.  I learned that people will pay you 200g for a living steel cooldown, even when you don’t ask for any payment (since I was getting 5 points out of it, I was fine with doing it for free), so I’m happy about that.

During that downtime, though, I began pondering some issues that had occurred to me while we were leveling together.  I don’t have any interest (for now) in leveling a bunch of toons.  I have GW2 to play with my buddy, anyway, plus Torchlight 2 with a group, so I’m in no way married to WoW.  I couldn’t be sure I’d max more than one toon.  I’d realized throughout the play session that my shammy was missing some fundamental stuff that I’d only really done heavily on my paladin: cooking, fishing, and archaeology.  I want to do those things for Pandaria, too.

So that left a choice.  Either I could level my pally as well, level those skills on my shammy (and I mean it’s a hell of a lot of leveling – I had every recipe on my paladin.  Every stinking one.), or catch my pally up and stop leveling my shammy.  None were particularly attractive.  I fear leveling both would increase the risk of burnout.  I don’t really want to re-level fishing and archaeology, which were super-chorish, nor get every recipe in cooking, which took a lot of work.  I don’t really want to stop leveling my shammy, either, nor level both our pallies together and squabble over gear (not really – she’d just get it all, no arguing involved).

I haven’t fully decided what to do yet, but I did decide against releveling those skills on my shammy.  I’m just not sure whether I’m going to level both, making my paladin a “solo” character, or swap them out and abandon the shaman for now.  I’m just not sure.

It’s funny that after all this time I’d come out so attached to such basic things as wanting to keep my pally maxed on recipes, archaeology, fishing, etc.  I wouldn’t have – and didn’t – expect it, or it would have been pretty prominent on the chart.  At some level, my previous achievements are like chains binding me to that character regardless of my personal wishes.  It all smells of Chuck Palahniuk.  I’m not sure how that makes me feel – other than foolish.

Regardless, I enjoyed the leveling for the most part.  I liked the slow influx of gear with the supplemental purchases available in town.  I liked the new models, particularly the swamp walkers, and the story line leading up to and including finding Anduin, only to – spoiler alert, by the way – have him mind control Sully and get away.  I loved what Sully said, “Cheeky little bugger!  I didn’t think he had it in him!”  He wasn’t mad; perhaps, even, he was proud.  

I have to say that the storyline has been a bit, well, predictable.  Nothing’s really blown me away.  Admittedly, we’re in the exposition part of the story at this point, but still, I’d prefer something not so repeatedly cliché.  Mysterious stranger turns good.  Xenophobic culture becomes friendly.  Mr. Miyagi shows up and teaches meditation.  Then again, that may be precisely what Pandaria delivers: more of the same.  Only time will tell.

My last “first day in Mists” comment is another sort of weird admission.  I spotted my first Golden Lotus, which I had learned were needed for higher level alchemy flasks and whatnot, and I beelined to it.  It had a mob near, which I engaged and killed.  In the meantime, another mob had patted over and joined up.  The whole while, my heart was pounding because it was my first golden lotus and I didn’t want some asshole to steal it.  No one did, luckily, but I’d already had some cheaper stuff snatched from right under me.  Shared resources a la GW2 FTW.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and waffling)

P.S.  I’m excited to point out that my Navispam is up on The Daily Frostwolf.  I had a lovely, if short, conversation with Navi, and I look forward to speaking to her more as we move forward.

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2012 7:29 am

    I don’t recall from yesterday’s post (and I’m too lazy to look while at work) if your Pally is level 85; but you could level archaeology on your paladin as you level. Get to level 86 via questing (depending on various things like your guild, that should be about 3/4 of Jade Forest) then start the archaeology stuff. If the pally is also a miner or herbalist, you’ll get bonuses for that – and if you want to do a questline again as you level, there’s no stopping you.

    Sure it will be slower, but it doesn’t seem as though speed is what you’re after with this.

    • Malk permalink
      October 16, 2012 7:38 am

      Once you get to the farming area (you’ll know it when you see it^^): look up the cooking trainer, you can level up to 525(?) on purely MoP recipes learnt from this trainer…with all the necessary ingredients bought directly from her too.

      It’s not ‘all the recipes in game’…but it is easy cooking levelled on your shammy :)

    • October 16, 2012 4:22 pm

      Yeah, I learned that yesterday. The Shammy’s cooking wasn’t atrocious; she’d leveled alone on that server at first and had gotten her skill up to late cata stuff (just below 500), but yesterday I got her up to where she needed to be. Still, the “every recipe” achievement is tough to ignore; getting all the little random ones was such a pain in the butt that I can’t help but be drawn to the pally.
      Thanks for the comment!

    • October 16, 2012 4:21 pm

      That’s my plan. He is level 85, and when I entered Pandaria I noted immediately that there were arch zones in the Jade forest. As I get near them in leveling, I’ll begin to maintain the skill up, as well. He is a miner; what do you mean by bonuses? Do you just mean that leveling mining is ridiculously fast (My wife’s already 595 in jade forest – it seems the “grey” nodes are still giving skill points).
      Thanks for the comment!

    • Talarian permalink
      October 16, 2012 6:23 pm

      You don’t need a mining pick anymore, it gives you a +10 to mining. THe nodes are grey because the UI is confused. Her effective mining is 605, which would make the node grey, except her actual mining as far as the skill-up roll goes is 595, which they’re actually green.

  2. October 16, 2012 7:54 am

    As Malk said, powering remedial cooking is simple provided you have the gold. Unfortunately archaeology and fishing have to be done the old way and it does take time. I do understand what you mean on becoming strangely attached to the secondary skills. When I was tossing between DK, Paladin, and Warrior as the tank/melee main for MoP one of the deciders was that the DK was at 525 in everything while the others hadn’t hit 200.

    Archaeology should level fairly quickly if you stay Shaman (and the level 87 skill is huge fun, at least as Elemental). You get 6 digs per site now so that does reduce the flight time.

    Wait until you start the Grummie quest lines. They will either annoy you to the point of insanity or be the most hilarious thing you’ve seen in WoW.

    • October 16, 2012 4:24 pm

      Are the grummies the things with big hats? I saw a music video on Rohan’s site, and I think perhaps that’s them. I look forward to checking out all the new stuff; I’ve bumped into the Anglers, though I can’t interact with them yet, and I’m curious what they’ll provide later. I also bumped into the level 90 tigers on the island east of the Anglers; unfortunately I didn’t notice they were level 90 until I had about 4 of them on me, and it was a bit of a corpse walk back to the edge of the island afterwards. Damn tigers; I’ll be returning at 90 to return the favor!
      Thanks for the comment!

    • October 16, 2012 9:36 pm

      They are indeed. Big hats, consistently odd cadence, and a thing for…well, I’ll let you work through the chains for that bit.

  3. infamydeferred permalink
    October 16, 2012 12:41 pm

    Check the AH for the going rate on living steel. On my server at least, they’re going for 900+ a piece and cost about 120g in mats – with 780g in markup, it’s no wonder people were happy to offer you 200!

    • October 16, 2012 4:24 pm

      Yeah, I see what you mean. I was just pleasantly surprised because neither of us had mentioned payment, and yet there it was. It was a nice tip!
      Thanks for the comment!

    • infamydeferred permalink
      October 16, 2012 10:55 pm

      I totally got the numbers wrong, I thought it was 10x ghost iron. 6x trillium is worth 480g on my server, still a hearty profit more than 200.

  4. October 16, 2012 9:54 pm

    In my opinion, let the secondary professions go. There is so much “completion” stuff in WoW that forcing yourself to do it all only leads to hours of tedium. If it’s not fun to do, it’s not fun to do.

    Hearing about someone giving away their daily transmute makes me cringe. >_<
    Protip: transmute your own Trillium as well for extra returns. If you can smelt your own Ghost Iron it's usually even cheaper. And if you can find a Blacksmith to turn the Living Steel into a Belt Buckle they sell much faster and for more. Profit!

    Oh and if you're playing Enchancement, keep an eye on your AH for "Fist of Fate" — ilevel 450 [ie endgame level] BoE Fist Weapon that you can use from L85. Even the secondary stats are perfect for Enhancement.

    • October 18, 2012 4:49 pm

      I should. I know I should. I found myself today doing the fishing daily on my shaman. I stopped and asked “Why on earth am I doing this? This isn’t even the character I wanted to level fishing on!”
      Then I finished the quest.

      So clearly habits are a foolish driving force in my life. It is what it is.

      Thanks all the same for the comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

