Skip to content

Spoiled for Choice

October 13, 2012

Dear Reader,

I’ve been stuck in WoW since I upgraded to MoP.  I’m completely spoiled for options, and am having a large dose of choice paralysis.  I simply don’t know who to level up.  As a result, I’ve enlarged my pet collection a bit each time I log on (usually to different toons; probably 2/3rds are specced now), but I don’t actually progress any characters.  I’ve been thinking on and off about it for nearly a week now, and I know I should just bite the bullet and decide who to level, so I complied this table with my thoughts on each toon.

From the list, there’s clearly a few frontrunners, but it’s not enough to really make a definitive decision.  I can, however, eliminate some: the DK, the mage, the monk, the priest, the lock, and the warrior.  That still leaves 5, though: Druid, Hunter, Pally, Rogue, and Shaman.  From there, I’m not sure.  Thoughts?  Anyone?

Sincerely,

Stubborn (with engines running, but no direction just yet)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2012 12:01 pm

    Try shadow priest, when he’s in shadow form you won’t really have to look at him, and shadow is pretty cool atm.

    • October 13, 2012 4:32 pm

      He’s just… he’s just so tall. And pretty. And has a head full of hair. I made a mistake changing him, I really did. Someday I may pay to move him back, but for now, I think he’s going to sit on the bench, looking far, far too pretty.

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. Talarian permalink
    October 13, 2012 12:53 pm

    I love my Enhancement Shaman, but you certainly seem averse to melee DPS. Enhance is a true hybrid, with half damage coming from melee and half from spell casting, and honestly, with the totem changes, you don’t need to drop 4 at once anymore. If you’re DPS, you drop your fire totem, and everything else are cooldowns. Shaman easily have the *biggest* bag of tricks and utility now of any class, which is super fun to me. I can tank in a pinch with a taunt, Earth Elemental, spirit wolves, defensive totems and cooldowns. I can sustained AoE like nobody’s business. Healing? I can put out a sustained 15k HPS in a 5 man as Enhance with the right totems and glyphs and using Maelstrom Weapon profs on Healing Rain. Kiting? Ghost Wolf, Earthbind totem and Frost Shock (though this isn’t new to MoP). Ranged DPS? Can do that for a short time, too, with Shocks, Unleash Weapon and Lightning Bolt.

    Seriously, Shaman can do it all! I’ve been neglecting my main (Holy Paladin) because my Enhancement Shaman has been so much fun.

    • October 13, 2012 4:38 pm

      That’s a very strong case, regardless of melee. I don’t like melee that’s very stationary. Warriors, pallies, DKs all seem very stationary. I like mobility, as with a rogue or cat druid. Stealth has made a big difference for me, too, when it comes to melee, so I forgive melee classes for their stinkiness when they can stealth. Shaman, though, seems to have a lot of versatility, plus, my wife decided (finally) that she wanted to level her ally pally (terrible non-rhyme there – damn the English language), so she sort of reduced my choices further, really to the pally or the shammy. I think it’s going to be the shammy, then.

      Thanks for the comment!

    • Talarian permalink
      October 13, 2012 8:45 pm

      And if you prefer a caster anyhow, Elemental is always good too!

      But yessss, another shaman convert!

    • October 14, 2012 7:47 pm

      I agree with this guy. After my Warrior [of course] my intention for this expansion is to play my Shaman as Restoration, with Enhancement as a secondary spec. All the version 5 changes are improvements. Totems are all actually useful now, not just a case of “maintain this totem or your group will lose the buff”, and raid utility is still stupidly high, with the class even getting yet another raid-wide damage buff to cast along with Heroism.

      I’ve played around a bunch with Resto Shaman since version 5 dropped and the main feeling I get is that, in the same way that Enhancement feels like a “true hybrid” DPS, Restoration feels like “true hybrid” healing, with so much of your healing coming from secondary sources like earth shield, healing totems and smart healing. I also like that their “fast heal” is actually worth using rotationally.

      Enhancement is probably the most interesting melee spec in the game, and definitely the most actively hybrid-ey. I raided as Enhancement back in Icecrown and with the gear I had from there it was totally viable to heal Heroics as Enhancement and still top damage, depending on the group. I can’t help but notice the new talents and glyphs that are obviously designed to support this playstyle, and given how under-tuned the new Heroics are, I have to wonder whether Enhancement-healing Heroics will be possible again even within the current raiding tier.

      Can’t really recommend Elemental, but I haven’t played it since version 5 so it might be good now, who knows? ^^

    • October 16, 2012 4:19 pm

      Yeah, in the end I went enh spec, and I’m enjoying it. I like the pretty fluid feeling of the opening moves in combat. I am stuck at times, though, with everything on cooldown and without anything useful to cast. Do you find that in your rotation, as well? I generally go fire totem – unleash – flame shock – storm something (the melee attack) – lava lash… and then nothing until earth shock cools down. Is there another quick punch I can fit in there?
      Thanks for the comment!

    • Talarian permalink
      October 16, 2012 6:19 pm

      @Stubborn
      There’s no “quick punch” to throw in there, and yes it’s normal. Ret, Feral, Rogue, etc. all have small gaps in their play now by design. Melee aren’t supposed to always be pressing buttons. The theory is that you use your utility in the downtime, which as shown below, I take advantage of as Enhance.

      Theorycrafting suggests that if you have at least 1 stack of Maelstrom Weapon, hard-casting Lightning Bolt is the way to go. I usually just refresh my Searing Totem with my extra GCDs, or throw out Spirit Wolves (2 Minute Cooldown), or just wait for 3 – 4 stacks of Maelstrom Weapon and then hardcast lightning bolt.

      If I’m taking a bunch of damage, I often use those extra GCDs to throw out some utility. Bulwark Totem/Healing Stream/Shamanistic Rage. The extra space in the rotation is actually nice to be able to use those and not lose DPS.

  3. Krel permalink
    October 14, 2012 1:37 am

    I’m a Druid guy. I just love the fluid feeling of shapeshifting. It’s not just during fights – don’t get me wrong, my boomkin is a lot of fun in fights, especially with the new moonbeast glyph, but i think the Druid really shines just doing everyday stuff. Dailies, farming – for example, take an underwater daily. Bird form to the spot, drop form into the water, swim form (Orca glyph, of course ;) ) to the mobs, boomkin boomkin boomkin, swim back to the surface, jump out of the water and switch to flight form and fly back. It just feels really fluid and natural to me.

    I’ve levelled two Druids to to max (well, 85 anyway) my main as boomkin/resto and an alt as kitty/bear. All the good stuff is still there, all the forms, but completely different play in fights.

    Have to admit tho, I haven’t levelled my alt Druid yet so I don’t know how changed cat/bear is from what I remember.

    • October 16, 2012 4:16 pm

      Me too. Probably, barring input from anyone else (my wife primarily), I probably would have leveled the druid. Unfortunately, the fact remains that I don’t want to give Blizzard another 25 dollars to convert him to an alliance toon, and my wife is married to her paladin. As it sits, he’s obsolete.
      Still, thanks for the input (and the ride to the farming zone). My wife and I ran over there yesterday to get the ball rolling.
      See you in game!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

