Skip to content

Public Service Announcement: Drowning Victims

June 22, 2012

Dear Reader,

Perhaps it’s just a legend (though I doubt it), but I’ve heard that trying to save a drowning victim is particularly perilous because they’re liable to drag you down with them.  In their effort to secure a full breath of air, they’ll try to climb on top of you, pushing you under the water.  It’s not maliciousness or evil, just the primal panic that accompanies near-death situations.  I’ve been told, then, that if you’re being accosted by someone who’s drowning, you should simply render them unconscious before trying to save them, for both your own goods.

Unfortunately, when my wife asked me to fill in last night for a raid, something I’ve made quite clear I don’t want to do, my options were more limited.  I like to make my wife happy.  I like to give her the things she wants.  Still, I knew that raiding was going to make me absolutely miserable, and I wasn’t particularly happy that she’d asked me to go and didn’t want to reward that behavior.  Still, it’s only a few hours, I figured, so why not?  We’re only doing Spine and Madness, but both are fights I’ve never done before, but everyone else in the raid had.  Keep that in mind as you read.

Here’s some snippets from the raid:

Holy priest is asked to put up the Shadow Resistance buff.  I point out it’s unnecessary since we have a paladin aura, but am ignored.  She puts it up.  Before the pull, someone notices we don’t have the priest fort buff.  When asked, the priest, a level 85 who’s healed on this toon before in DS, says, “Oh, I didn’t know you could put both up at once.”

I am told by the “main” tank paladin (who has more hp than me but has no threat gen (more on that later) and far less avoidance) quite definitively that paladins only have one taunt.  I have been complaining about the bloods on spine collecting around me while I tank the amalgamation.  He first says I shouldn’t be using AOE, and when I point out that there’s one aoe that’s part of my rotation but only every 12 or so seconds, he scoffs, thinking I’m still in the wrong.  He then says he can only taunt one every 6 or so seconds. No, I say, you can use your AOE taunt.  “An AOE taunt?  What are you talking about?  That’s ridiculous.”  I then go link the ability and he comes back with some lame argument about that not being a taunt because it targets another player.  “Whatever,” I say, “just get the bloods off of me.”  He never does use the AOE taunt.

Halfway through channeling the reattach armor, the tendon is only being targeted by 4 people.  I point this out, since there should be at least 6 people targeting it (2 tanks, 4 dps – one dps apparently is targeting some fiery grip thing, and one’s stunned, but the stunned person can still target this so they can start attacking instantly upon being freed), but the raid leader makes excuses, finally ending with “Targeting something we always have problems with.”  I don’t know how to respond.  Other than stray bloods, what else is there to be targeting?!

We got about 5 wipes from inappropriate rolls, only one of which (the first) was my fault, because when DBM said to “Get secure!” I ran to the hole and caused the roll.  No one had pointed out not to.  The other 4 were from people who’d done this fight before but are just imbeciles.

On Madness, the “main” tank and I are dealing with impales, and I keep getting hit with two impales from each tentacle (which says something about our dps).  “Why do you keep taunting back?” he asks, so I start only autoattacking after I take the first impale.  I still pull threat back and am killed by the second impale.  Somehow in his mind this is my fault.

On the next pull, I don’t attack the tentacle at all so that he’ll get first threat and definitely take the first impale, so I can guarantee I only get the second.  Instead, the rogue is one-shotted by the tentacle because the other tank didn’t pick it up at all.

When we finally get to the final phase, both elementium horrors attack me (even though I single-target taunted only one), and the other tank fails to get the second one off me in the time it takes for them to kill me through all of my individual cooldowns, so I figure probably 30 seconds.  All he had to do was taunt, but he never got either off of me.  I am again blamed for “picking up” both of them.

All of this happens in about 90 minutes.  We never downed madness; we got to 4% but for some reason, even though we were well ahead of the berserk timer, the raid leader tells the raid to ignore adds and burn the boss.  The adds kill us.  On the final attempt, I’m killed again by getting a second impale and having the big missile thing blow up at the same time.  I’m told I should have bubbled.  Well, they’re right; I should have.  I guess it’s my fault.

Like drowning victims, bad guilds who can’t fill their rosters drag down the people around them.  Be careful when in proximity to a drowning guild, and attempt to sever all lines of communication with them if necessary.  When this is not possible, may god have mercy on your soul.

This public service announcement was brought to you by Stubborn.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and drowned)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2012 9:45 pm

    In my not-so-very-humble opinion, it should be one of the chief qualifications of ANY raid leader to have at least a fundamental knowledge of every class, ESPECIALLY those of the various tanks and healers, before attempting to lead a raid.

    You need to know what your raid members can do, so that you can make sure that they know what they can do, and actually DO IT.

    Personally, when the whole Righteous Defense argument popped up, it would have been “Look, you are going to change your ideas about that ability and learn to use it properly, or I am out of here. There is no ‘letting this go’. You are tanking a raid and you don’t even know how one of your taunts works. If you can’t figure that much out, then this is all a giant waste of my time and an even bigger chunk of unnecessary stress.”

    • June 22, 2012 11:32 pm

      TO be fair, I knew going in it was going to be a giant waste of my time. I don’t even like to raid any more in good raids, and this wasn’t going to be a good raid. The management – raid / guild leader in this case – is one of the primary problems in the guild, from my point of view. She makes tons of excuses all the time instead of expecting people to improve or recruiting outside the guild. I’ve been told by another commentator that my stories are like sitcoms due to the amazing idiocy of the cast (myself included for agreeing to go). This is just another episode, it seems.

      Thanks for the comment!

    • JC Denton permalink
      August 13, 2012 7:56 pm

      I know this post is months-old but figured I’d add in some thoughts.

      I’ve played a Prot-Pally tank back in TBC and LK. I left before Cata but the way things USED to work was that Prot-Pallys were AoE-focused tanks (without a decent taunt) while Warriors were the ‘boss tanks’.

      Then LK dropped and we had DKs also tanking. Hot damn that ‘Frost Armor’ aura they had was so overpowered that it had to be nerfed a few times to get it under control. Complete DPS geared/specced, just popped the aura and they can tank anything with their eyes shut. Really? REALLY!?

      Thank god Blizz realized their mistake and adjusted it.
      Unfortunately it took a while (until LK, about 4+ years after WoW’s launch) for them to finally give pallys a taunt called ‘Hand of Reckoning’. First it did a pretty decent chunk of holy damage (so much that Ret/Holy would use it against other players or player’s pets/minions). Then it was nerfed to only work against non-players. Then nerfed again to do only 1-4 holy damage. Then they finally got rid of any damage from it altogether, robbing Ret/Holy from a useful ranged attack.

      Righteous Defense has been around since TBC but it was mainly used to pull aggro when the healer gets one too many mobs on em. If a DPS does that, the healer heals them, takes aggro, then the tank taunts it off the healer. The tank already has a LOT going on to deal with to worry about what the DPS is pulling and trying to save their asses. Another reason why Hand of Sacrifice/Salvation had to be buffed/glyphed to actually get used.

      At one point, using the Righteous Fury buff and talenting it in the Prot Tree would give Ret pallies a tiny bit more damage mitigation. God Forbid I ever managed to take aggro off the boss (which almost never happened) or try to give myself a tiny bit more defense even though the difference in armor types is so minimal as to be nearly-useless.

      That the pally tank didn’t know or use Righteous Defense was not their fault, but WoW’s mechanics change so often with almost every patch it’s hard to keep track sometimes.

      Pallys in general still have very poor threat generation, and Righteous Fury was just a band-aid fix for it (even though tanks will still be heavily outdps’d).

    • August 14, 2012 6:51 pm

      “That the pally tank didn’t know or use Righteous Defense was not their fault, but WoW’s mechanics change so often with almost every patch it’s hard to keep track sometimes.”
      I think you misspoke here; I think you meant it WAS his fault, but… If that’s the case, then we’re in agreement. Yes, they change a lot, but really it’s still his responsibility.

      More than that, though, it’s the guild and raid leader’s. I’ve said repeatedly I think that biggest problem with this guild is mismanagement. The GL/RL is finicky, moody, and inconsistent, so it makes it hard for players to know what to expect. She makes a lot of excuses for some people and obliterates others for small or “learning” mistakes. That’s the biggest problem, and this guy’s ignorance is simply a symptom thereof.

      I, too, have played a prot pally for a long time, which is one of the reasons I was a little taken aback that the fellow would argue with me. He’s a relatively new player in comparison, and I wasn’t being cruel or condescending when I pointed out his options, but he got very defensive about it. That, again, comes back to leadership’s inability to create a positive and supportive raid atmosphere; he probably though I was being harshly critical instead of offering help.

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. June 23, 2012 10:45 am

    This story is all too typical sadly- people not knowing their class but assuming they do & everyone too ready to apportion blame. Just out of interest was the debate going on in Vent or Raid chat? In the pressure of all the fighting I always struggle to be able to put my point across typing without quickly dying – side point I know but I was just wondering how you were doing it (although I know it didn’t make much difference anyway!)

    • June 25, 2012 11:10 am

      The debate was a mix of the two. I was told that my mic was acting up, so I eventually just stopped talking into vent and continued typing. Most of the debate was before we’d jump onto spine, though the “blames” for dying obviously took place after wipes. For the most part, then, the heat of combat wasn’t an issue, but to be honest, if I missed a few attacks in my rotation, it’s not like I was in danger of having the other tank pull off of me (:

      For the record, after the raid, I borrowed my wife’s headset and tested myself on vent, and I thought I sounded fine other than sounding like I was in a large room (no echo, just a sort of muffled quality of large spaces), so I don’t know what they were talking about.

      Thanks for the comment!

  3. July 13, 2012 12:45 pm

    Sitcom is right! Definitely having sympathy pains. And a sort of reassurance about getting out of raiding when I did.

    • July 13, 2012 2:45 pm

      Yeah, LFD has definitely made it clear that I have no desire to go back into raiding (for now).

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

