Skip to content

Another Opportunity

May 28, 2012

Dear Readers,

I have only a short post for you today, but it’s another important one.  Another opportunity to support one of our own has come up, and I wanted to pass it along.  I’m sure you remember the previous times, where I appealed to your better instincts to support Ferrel, a now-two-time published author with a revision coming out shortly (measured in publishing time).  This time, I’m appealing for a visual artist, Vidyala, who some of you may know from her site, Manalicious.  If you don’t, I suggest you head over there right away and give her work a look.

She’s written an excellent explanation of her decision to make her art more commercially available, and for the most part I’m going to just point you there.  However, I want to encourage you all to consider purchasing a piece of art.  To be frank, the prices are ridiculously low for a character portrait from someone as talented as she is.  After all, you’re getting one-of-a-kind, hand-made visual art for pennies compared to what the machine-made WoW figurines cost.

In the end, regardless of how much you want a piece of art, also consider this: arts are getting more and more ignored by our culture today.  Art programs in schools are among the first to be cut due to their cost.  Museums in smaller cities are shutting down from lack of funding.  Yet, on the other end, we have pieces going regularly for record-breaking prices at auctions.  Art is becoming a fashion for the rich while children and “the common man” are being deprived of a chance to experience and enjoy it.  Here’s your chance to help a figure in your community, whose art you can preview up front on her site, who you know will be personally benefited from your support, and on top of all that, you get an awesome character piece of your own to frame and hang on your wall.

At any rate, as a teacher, I have made it a goal to always support artists, budding (in my classroom, usually) or established (in Vidy’s case).  I hope I can convince you to do the same, dear reader, or at least to head over to her site and check it out.

On Wednesday, we’ll move back to D3, which I’ve finished on normal mode and am moving into nightmare mode.  It’s kept my attention so far, but to be honest, with the exception of the suicide bombers, has been mindlessly easy, so much in fact that I’ve gone back to Civ 5 just so I feel like I’m thinking about a game (and since I just crossed 300 hours in Civ 5, I’m getting bored with it.  Any suggestions?).  However, I’m seeing a glimmer – just a tiny firefly spark – of challenge in nightmare mode, so my hope is up that future modes may be even more entertaining.  More on that on Wednesday.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and supportive, I hope!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2012 2:27 pm

    Thank you so much for your endorsement, Stubborn, and the link. I truly appreciate it. The response has been really good and I’m at the point where I need a list to keep track of current and upcoming commissions, which can only be a good thing!

    All the best. <3

  2. May 28, 2012 2:55 pm

    I’m completely sold on the prints thing, will commission from her :)

    Nightmare is still too easy, I’ve found Hell to be not much of a challenge if you buy a proper weapon from the AH. Inferno is when things start getting complicated, but merely because you will not have the proper gear for it until you manage to farm enough to afford it. God, I hate the grind.

    Thanks for the tip on Manalicious’ blog :)

  3. kaleedity permalink*
    May 29, 2012 8:59 am

    Inferno is where it gets hard. Well, late act 3 and act 4 hell is interesting, and random unique packs can always be fun on hell. I really enjoyed solo hell diablo’s difficulty.

    Inferno is a problem. Act 1 inferno doesn’t really fall into the same category as the rest of it; there’s no “difficulty wide” penalty in the style of the previous game. No, in diablo 3 inferno, in act 2 and beyond, we have sheer stat growth in monster damage.

    Okay, I lied. Life leech is cut by 80% in diablo 3 in Inferno. It’s too bad life leech is too low even without that change to matter. All it really does is make some of the base skill/glyph combinations worthless. Life gain on hit and healing is unchanged. If you gain some life based on a percentage of damage that you deal, you might as well factor that out in inferno.

    The real problem with inferno is the damage output. Mobs don’t take ridiculously more damage to kill; it’s a pretty similar jump in durability as it is between any of the previous acts’ difficulties. The issue is that an act 2 fallen deals hundreds of thousands of damage on a swing. My barbarian, with a shield (ugh) and active defensive abilities and passives, has more than 98% damage reduction against level 60 mobs for a few seconds at a time. It’s only a fraction of a percent less against the higher level mobs in inferno. I still lose double digit percent health on every attack. When my cooldowns fade and I drop to my normal paltry 95% damage reduction, I start getting killed in 4 attacks. If a unique snake spear boss spawns in the later parts of act 2, which, by the way, increases in statistical difficulty significantly with every zone change, I either have to lure them out of the way and sneak by them after respawning or restart the game and hope for a better mob. The random boss modifiers don’t really matter that much. Weaker base monsters, like the snake casters, are killable and deal significantly less damage.

    As much as it irks me, I don’t think the difficulty is possible to pass on your own without a shield on a barbarian — at least without perfectly rolled gear, or without trying to avoid virtually all combat. I’m looking forward to how they’re going to tweak the difficulty in the future to make your damage output more important. For now, act 1 inferno is fun because you can avoid many of the monsters’ telegraphed attacks and you don’t get one shot if you have 150 resist all and 8000 armor. You feel much less durable in act 2 with 900 resists and 9000 armor while fighting monsters whose attacks are not avoidable.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

