Skip to content

On the Lighter Side

May 9, 2012

Dear Reader,

We’ve been weighing heavy issues recently of control, morality, and how – or if – to incentivize good behavior.  I thought today we’d step back and just have a few giggles at my expense.

The primary reasons for this are as a celebration of my 1 year blogiversary (which was months ago now) and that I capped over 200 posts.  That was actually a few weeks ago, too, but it just wasn’t the right time for a humorous post.  As I did when I hit 100 posts, I thought I’d look back at a few of my favorites and take a look at which writings have brought me a lot of traffic.

My top search for the past quarter (I can’t do a half year, so this will have to do, or I’m too greatly overlapping my 100th post) is in fact

Ostrich Love

That’s right.  More people have come to my site by looking up avian mating than anything else.  I’m not sure if there’s a reason people are looking this term up – there’s a folk tale, an old youtube video, and plenty of pictures, but apparently a lot of the Internet is interested in, well, bird sex.

Actually, it strikes me now that the biggest “youtuber” in the group of NY friends I had thought the video he’d seen of two pigeons hittin’ it was just about the funniest thing ever.  He made “neck pecking” jokes for months.  Maybe there’s something there, an untapped market for development.  I’ll send Activision an email.

I’ve got an enormous amount of traffic from various animal searches, plovers being the most common.  Additionally, many of those searches were for images, not actual text, so apparently I’ve become a beacon of animal pictures that I totally legally got from other sites…

I’m still getting a fair share of hits for Johari window, even though that was more than a year ago now.  I feel at times like one of those people who peaked in high school, had their greatest achievement, and it’s all been downhill from there.  Then again, I’ve really enjoyed writing our correspondences, particularly recently as business has started to pick up (I won’t talk numbers because I’m afraid they’d be hilariously small compared to – say – 4000 posts).

Now we’re getting into slimmer pickings.  Each of the next were image searches.  One of my favorites was “Crocodile like a boss.”

Who knew?

I can only assume this is what they were looking for.  What else makes sense?

Then I saw “Pinguin Schminke.”  My first reaction was that this was simply a typo mixed with a yiddish word or the like.  But no.

Just look at that guy’s face.

It’s German for penguin costume (or something like that).  Well, now I know.

I got not one, but two searches for the term “Worgen fucking Draenei.”  Note that this person actually took the time to spell Draenei correctly.  I didn’t search it.  I don’t want to know.

I got a lot of sheep questions, too.  I had no idea there was so much to know about sheep.

What is the singular of sheep?  Well, I don’t know how to break it to you buddy, but you’ve answered your own question.

Are sheep stubborn?  and Sheep are stubborn.  I need to put these two in touch.  As for me, not surprisingly, my name came from a play on words: Tauren -> bull heads -> bull headed -> Stubborn.  Alas, Bullheaded was taken, or who knows who’d be writing our correspondences?

Does a Sheep have a blind spot? and Sheep have a large blind spot.  Another perfect pair.  I looked this up.  Yes, they do, directly behind them, so if you approach a sheep from directly behind, it may become panicked and attack you.  Safety first!

Blow up Sheep  Well, there’s two very different ways to take that.  Both are equally disturbing.  I’m glad no information on either would be found on my site.

I also got a fair share of Star Wars “bug” searches.  I won’t list them all, but let’s just say I was not alone on Korriban’s Flame or Dromund Kaas.  Apparently a lot of people got stuck there, and I’m glad my site gave them the vindication that it wasn’t them that they needed.  In your face, Bioware custserv.  It wasn’t just me!

Here’s on particular search I got hit 3 times for:

Where is my fleet pass – on cooldown, probably.

Then we have a few last random ones that made me smile:

What Gevlon thinks of himself – well, I don’t know.  He seems to think pretty well of himself, but I’d be willing to bet a vast majority of bloggers do.  I don’t mean arrogance, just halfway decent self esteem.  Otherwise, why would we be putting our ideas out there?  For the record, I have no idea why this got redirected to my site.

Healthy relation in furious animal -  Don’t count on it.

How to draw a cool and easy penguin – four triangles, a circle, and an oval.  Figure it out.

Dogs attacking stupid people - I don’t know where to go with this one, other than to say, I now have a new birthday wish.

Lastly, I want to put back out there some of my favorite posts.  First, I want to relink part 1 of all my series, as I am most proud of them.  Still, though, they’re not my favorite, so below you’ll find links to my top five, in no particular order.  If you haven’t seen them before, enjoy, and if you have, thanks for being such a long time reader!

The Series:

The Nature of Guild Disagreements, Part 1: David and Goliath

Rich Games for Poor Players, Part 1

The Thing we Carry, Part 1

Myers-Briggs-Blizz, Part 1

Game Relationship Gestalts, Part 1

Couples and WoW, Part 1

Nicest of the Nice, Baddest of the Bad, Part 1

The Favorites:

Should Be

The Lost Quadrant

Why I Quit Every MMO I Ever Played

Why We Should All /ignore /ignore

An (In)Decent Proposal

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and reminiscent)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Syl permalink
    May 9, 2012 4:58 pm

    Many wonderful reads from you Stubborn, looking forward to the next 100! :)
    (p.s.: schminke is make-up)

  2. May 12, 2012 4:51 pm

    Thank you for a really good laugh on fairly glum day! gz and x (best laugh for me – the perfect pairs :))

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

