Skip to content

Not Another Series, I Promise

March 14, 2012

Dear Reader,

I’m not starting another series today.  I’m not.  But I sort of am.

After reading Syl’s recent post entitled Which MMOs are you Holding Onto?, I found myself feeling a bit of nostalgia for my past MMOs.  I’ve already written about why I eventually ditched them, and I went back and reread that post to reaffirm my choice, but then I read another post about how we measure MMO success (that I failed to save, though at least I saved one of them this time), and how we need to remember that churn doesn’t only include new players but old players who return to see changes and new content, as well.  What the hell, I said.  It’s only disk space.

On top of that, my wife and I had a conversation about what we wanted to play post-Star Wars.  All three of us had agreed to stick with Star Wars at least until 50 and our class quests were done.  However, since we’re all in the mid-40s now, that time was rapidly approaching (before the end of this week, we hope).  I suggested we try one of the games we’d retired, and she agreed.  We discussed DDO, LotRO, and Rift (I discussed Fallen Earth, too, but she wasn’t interested in “a first person shooter” (I can’t convince her it’s not)).  Those discussions, too, twanged a string of nostalgia in me.  Fine!  I finally said, and downloaded them all.

So I sit now on the cusp of going back to many of the previous MMOs I abandoned.  I’ve been dabbling recently, and this is undoubtedly just another aspect of that.  I finished some of the games I was dabbling in, and I don’t plan on playing all these MMOs at once, but I do plan on playing them.

I’m worried, to be honest.  I don’t like jumping in to MMOs mid-way through.  I don’t like having a lot of changes flying around my head that I don’t fully understand.  I like to read and prepare, but I also don’t want to commit a ton of time to reading and preparing to play games I may only load up once or twice (I already loaded up DDO twice and feel completely lost).  However, I don’t really want to roll a new character in any of them, either.

So I’m going to play and see what I find.  I’m going to report my findings here.  It won’t be a series, because I’m tired of series (I guess that’s plural) and I see so much happening in the middle of my series that I want to stop and talk about it (like ACM’s recent excellent post that I’m sure you all already know about).  Still, before I dive head first into what may be an empty pool, any thoughts from you, dear reader, about which game I should focus on first and why?  Any warning about changes I should expect?

On a second note, I’m again frustrated with Star Wars design, though it’s a small, single thing this time.  I went to go do Colicoid War Games, which, frankly, is frustrating and terrible.  The guns from the first two parts of the mission are, frankly, terribly designed.  They’re difficult to steer, and if you hit any buttons at all, you dismount.  Since the encounter is like a gauntlet, being dismounted is incredibly dangerous, since it wastes precious seconds as your toon clumsily dismounts, then remounts.  Poor, poor, gameplay and design.  Bad Bioware.  Bad.

Having just finished ME2 (yes, 2, not 3), I’ve really had it made clear to me how good Star Wars should have been.  Their past successes only go to highlight what I consider to be very poor implementations of their core systems: dialogue (which is implemented just fine, but carries little weight) and companions.  Ah well, we can’t all be perfect, but I would have liked better.

Sincerely,

Stubborn (and getting ready to explore familiar territory)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2012 1:46 pm

    aww and I like your serieseseses :)
    I think the game you choose depends on what you want to do? I mean, DDO is completely instance based, it helps if you have some knowledge of character building (although there are some awesome builds around – you can find a lot at forums.ddo.com). The thing I like about DDO is if you have a really short window to play in, it´s perfect. Also, I love the fact that your character can be anything. Roll a bard, play as melee dps, healer, cc, buffer, anything you want.
    The thing I like about LOTRO is it is the most bimbly game ever, stroll around killing stuff at your leisure.. I also really got into the music aspect of it, and my minstrel can be found strumming tunes I´ve converted for lute :) But it´s a pick it up, put it down game too.
    I do miss Rift, but like SWTOR you only have the one option to level through, so for someone who likes levelling alts it gets boring to have to repeat the same area/planet over and over. I´ve always thought of it as WoW-lite though :) Even though the dorf gurls are way hotter :)
    But you´re doing waaaay too much research.. Just rock up and have some fun :)

    • March 14, 2012 3:02 pm

      Yeah, I’m sure I’d like to play anything for at least a while, but I just don’t like not knowing things – what the hell is this crafting menu in DDO, for instance? Rift seems largely unchanged, and I haven’t loaded LotRO up. We’ll see. I’m thinking DDO first, but I don’t like playing with strangers (;

  2. March 15, 2012 1:39 pm

    I say wait for Diablo III!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    But of course, I’m not a part-core gamer. :)

    • March 16, 2012 10:44 am

      Yes you are, you’re just on the lower echelons of it. You like your game time to be serious and well structured, when you play you pour yourself into it. You might only have a “casual” amount of time, but that doesn’t mean you’re not part-core. I couldn’t imagine not sharing ranks with you, anyway! And yes, D3 is up on the list.

  3. Windsoar permalink
    March 18, 2012 1:10 pm

    I haven’t played DDO in soooo long, I wouldn’t even know where to start. Since you have a group, that’s definitely an option; I tended to get burned out on the “run the same dungeon 50 times because it’s the best experience, and leveling is king!” Of course, you end up running stuff again anyway just because there’s not enough instance to go around, but it’s still more fun with a group :)

    I honestly have no idea how group friendly LoTRO is, but it’s definitely one of my top picks for solo play. I haven’t played it in a couple months myself, but it’s still waiting for when I get around to it!

    • March 21, 2012 1:19 pm

      That’s sort of my problem with DDO, too. I know I can go and play my character, but I have like 60 spells I haven’t looked at in two years, so I feel very lost, like trying to start a WoW toon at 60. LotRO seemed (in the past) good for soloing and very organic in nature (at least the starting zones), so I enjoyed it a lot, I’m just not sure I can get back into it, leveling the same zones again. I guess we’ll see.
      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

